About Collection Discovery
Alma's Collection Discovery feature allows us to create browsable, curated collections in Search. You can create collections for specific subjects, that highlight authors or groups, celebrate a genre, or that bring together a variety of resources to address campus initiatives, current events, or popular research topics.
Collection Discovery is an opportunity for the Libraries' to highlight what is special, new, trending, important, or underappreciated in our collections.
Finding & Browsing Collections in Search
Collections can be found in Search in several different ways.
- They are discoverable through the Collection Discovery Lobby, which can be accessed using the Curated Collections link in the top menu in Search.
- The names of Collections are indexed in Search, so they will also appear in Everything or UAlbany Libraries search results.
- Collections can be pinned and saved to your favorites.
- Each Collection also has a unique link, which can be shared or included in LibGuides or other online resources.
Ready to Get Started?
There are a few things you'll need to begin creating Collections:
- Alma, and the appropriate roles to work with Collections.
If you do not see the Collections-related links described in Creating & Managing Collections, please contact your supervisor.
- The resources in this guide.
- Creating & Managing Collections - An overview and step-by-step guide to working with Collections in Alma
- Best Practices & Tips - How to make the most of your Collections
- Additional Resources - Get inspired, find images, and get help
