Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A World of Information at Your Fingertips
"The collected knowledge, art, and amusements of all human civilization were there, waiting for me.” (Cline, p. 16)
Tips for Searching the Databases
Databases are used to find articles, documents, chapters and other specific information on a topic.
General databases such as Academic Search Complete will help you find articles on a wide range of topics across subject areas. Subject specific databases will help you find articles within a particular field of study.
What is a Scholarly Resource?
Accessing the Databases
You can use the University Libraries' online resources from right where you are - on campus, at home, or holed up in your mobile home skyscraper.
For off-campus access all you need is an internet connection and your NetID and password.
Science is Stranger Than Fiction: Select Academic Articles
Recommended Library Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, this interdisciplinary database covers a broad range of subject areas.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles from hundreds of sociology journals that investigate social issues.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic access to various reference sources which focus on both the facts and opposing viewpoints on current events issues.
Suggested Subject Terms
- Technological Innovations
- Technological Innovations and Economics
- Artificial Intelligence
- Science and Society
- Space Exploration