Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Whether you use a book, article or news resource it is important and also useful to provide proper credit for your research sources.
Tips for Citing Sources
Practicing Academic Integrity
As a member of the scholarly community here at the University at Albany, you will become a contributor to an ongoing scholarly conversation. Practicing academic integrity is an important component of contributing to that conversation and demonstrating your learning. These resources have been provided by the University Libraries to help you familiarize yourself with the standards of academic integrity at UAlbany and beyond.
Modern Language Association (MLA) style is used primarily for research papers in the arts and humanities. Below is the style guide from the MLA.
Modern Language Association. (2016). (8th ed.). MLA Handbook. New York: Modern Language Association of America. The call number is LB 2369 G53 2016. Copies of the manual can be found in the reference collections in the University, Science, and Dewey Libraries.
As a companion to the eighth edition of the handbook, the MLA also provides a website, style.mla.org, which includes example citations not found in the handbook, FAQs about citing sources, a practice template, and paper-formatting guidelines.
MLA Handbook by
Call Number: University Library Reference LB2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook, the official guide to MLA format.
MLA Style Resources from Purdue OWL
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University offers excellent resources for MLA style.