Caribbean Studies

"The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. "

"Resource for exploring historical map images of Caribbean islands. The site has evolved since 1999 and now presents images of approximately 1800 maps of the islands printed over five centuries (16th–20th)...This is a non-profit site created and directed by a scientist, Blair Hedges, who is solely responsible for the content. "

"This collection includes maps dating from the 16th to 19th centuries, published primarily in Paris, London, and Amsterdam. Many of the maps are hand colored. Some of the specific areas featured on the maps include the West Indies, Latin America, the Gulf of Mexico, Central America, and the Virgin Islands."

"The history of the British Caribbean is explored in this exhibition through government documents, photographs and maps dating from the 17th century to the 1920s and discovered during a cataloguing project at The National Archives of the United Kingdom."

Provides access to digital collections with digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection.

"contains photographs and related materials generated by the journalist, then known as Deena Boyer, during two trips to Cuba between July 1963 and July 1964. It was during her second trip to the island from December 1963 to July 1964 that she interviewed and photographed Fidel and Raúl Castro as well as other major figures in the Cuban Revolution, including Juan Almeida Bosque, Ernesto "Ché" Guevara, Armando Hart Dávalos, Celia Sánchez Manduley, Ramiro Valdés Menéndez, and others. In addition to images of key members of the Castro government at work and relaxing, the collection documents everyday life in Havana and in rural Cuba, focusing on farms, development projects, and schools."

"Selected titles from the radio programming catalog of america’s Productions, Inc. (API) contained in the physical collection of the same name held by Tulane University’s Latin American Library. Although the radio programs included in this collection were created in the United States, most of their script writers and actors were Cuban exiles continuing in US soil the Cuban radio tradition that had blossomed in the island in the 1940s and 1950s, when Cuban radio programs were recorded to be broadcast by radio stations in the Spanish speaking countries of Latin America."

"A fully bilingual (English and Spanish) digital educational platform devoted to disseminating sound historical information about the early presence of people of black African ancestry in the first colonial society of the Americas of modern times, the society of the colony named La Española (‘The Spanish One’) by the Spanish colonizers when they arrived in 1492 and throughout the sixteenth-century. "

"the first open-source digital tool narrating the history of Dominican music as it developed during the past century in the United States. By presenting multi-media resources, grounded in historical contexts and speaking to larger issues of immigration, identity, and diversity, this online platform provides a new approach to understanding Dominican music." Developed by the CUNY Dominican Studies Institute (CUNY DSI) at the City College of New York.

"The website is designed to provide online access to both the French originals and the English translations of key primary sources dealing with the grain shortage faced by the colony of Saint-Domingue in 1789" Hosted by the University of Maryland.

"Gary Monroe photographed extensively in Haiti from 1980 to 1998. This selection of one hundred prints documents life in Haiti and in Haitian communities in Florida, including the I.N.S. Krome Resettlement Camp in Miami where refugees were detained." Hosted by Duke University.

"The collection consists of two documents from the papers of Jean Baptiste Pierre Aime Colheux de Longpré, a French colonizer of Saint-Domingue (Haiti). The first is a very rare manuscript copy of the Haitian Declaration of Independence (1804). This declaration by the army of black Haitians established the first black republic in the world. The second is an excerpted copy of a will for Monsieur de la Martinier (1799) which mentions those with family members who became key Haitian revolutionaries." Hosted by Duke University.

"The Frank Espada Photographs digital collection provides online access to a small portion (25 photographs) of Espada's larger The Puerto Rican Diaspora project, specifically focusing on rural migration in Hawaii and Pennsylvania, and urban migration in New York City and Hartford, Connecticut. The remainder of the photographs and papers that preserve the stories of the communities he visited are available for research and study in the Frank Espada Photographs and Papers, 1946-2010, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University." Hosted by Duke University.

The collection consists of civil court case records from the Appellate Court “Corte de Primera Instancia” and some verbal trials "juicios verbales." Currently includes the period 1844-1845. Hosted by University of Connecticut.

"This is a selection of books and magazines from the Puerto Rican Collection, formerly known as the Géigel Family Collection or Géigel Collection, that have been digitized. The originals are housed in the UConn Libraries' Archives & Special Collections at the Thomas J. Dodd Research Center. "

Public repository designed to document the legal history of the extension of U.S. citizenship to Puerto Rico. The PRCAP provides a comprehensive overview of the history of the debates over the extension of citizenship to Puerto Rico. Hosted by UConn. Project coordinators: Charles R. Venator-Santiago and Marisol Ramos.