Caribbean Studies

Includes investment incentives along with a data profile and information about how to start a business (registration requirements) for each country. Location: University Library Reference HF3311.8 .C35

This works contains data such as economic, social, and military information of the Caribbean and each of the countries included in this region.

Available from 2013.

"The Statistics Programme produces information based on data supplied by CARICOM Member States. These include up-to-date Economic and Social data in the areas of Balance of Payments, Government Operations, Consumer Price Indices, External Debt and more."

Databases and statistical publications published by the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC/CEPAL) Part of the UN. Digital edition of the Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean . Print edition available in our reference collection HA 751 U52X

Guide from UW-Madison Libraries

Guide from UW-Madison Libraries

Open Data portal of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) that showcases socio-economic indicators for the Latin American and the Caribbean Region.

"The program uses a compressed hierarchical database, which can be created in R+G4, and which can contain microdata and/or aggregated information with millions of records for persons, houses, city clocks or any geographical division of a country. These data can come from any combination of census, survey or other sources." Created by the Population Division of ECLAC/CEPAL (Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean)

Last volume published in 2002. Publication ceased but still back volumes still useful for historical statistics.

DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them

Print version: International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-2000 / B.R. Mitchell. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2003. (Reference Collection HA 175 M55 2003.

Large catalog of data repositories in all disciplines.

A multidisciplinary data repository covering business, economics, finance, social sciences, demographics, public health, and more. Contains many tools for exporting, comparing, analyzing and visualizing the datasets.

Free and open access to global development data. Browse by country or indicator

DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. Created by the World Bank.

Multilingual education data portal to support improvements in learning. It contains comparable indicators and statistics for Latin America and the Caribbean. CIMA centralizes data from three main sources: harmonized household surveys, learning assessments and administrative data.Launched by the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)

"IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present."

Latin American datasets acquired, processed and archives by the Roper Center (Cornell University) for Public Opinion Research.

Surveys related to Public Opinion in Latin America. Created by Vanderbilt University. Free access. Free Files . Datasets can only be used for research purposes.

Public Opinion data for Latin America. Developed by Corporación Latinobarómetro, a ONG in Chile.

"LIS acquires datasets with income, wealth, employment, and demographic data from a large number of countries, harmonises them to enable cross-national comparisons, and makes them available for public use by providing registered users with remote access." Free registration for academic use.

"household survey program focused on generating high-quality data, improving survey methods, and building capacity. The goal of the LSMS is to facilitate the use of household survey data for evidence-based policymaking." Created by the World Bank.