Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Copyright: The Law and Guidelines

Fair Use Guidelines for Streaming Online in the Classroom

Best Practices for Fair Use of Video Content in the Classroom

  • Link to video content whenever possible instead of allowing students to download materials. Use streaming or other technologies that limit students' ability to download, copy, or redistribute the material.
  • If copying a video, do not use any more of the video than the amount needed to serve your purpose. Use clips that are pertinent to your lesson plan.
  • Avoid copying videos from a textbook, workbook, or other instructional materials as this can affect their market value. Use of more than a brief excerpt is therefore to be considered a fair use.
  • Transform video when appropriate through the addition of background readings, study questions, commentary, criticism, annotation, and student reactions.
  • Limit access to video content to students enrolled in the course.
  • Notify students that videos are being made available for teaching, study, and research only.
  • Note use of any content that is protected under U.S. copyright, and provide attributions to known copyright owners of the videos.

Videos from the University Libraries

Use the main search tool at the University Libraries to search across all available resources. Limit your search to UAlbany Libraries, choose "Videos" from the Resource Type under Tweak Your Results (on the left), and explore your results. The following are two of our main streaming collections. 

Academic Video Online (AVON). More than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Must have UAlbany credentials to access. Search starting at the Database Finder: https://apps.library.albany.edu/dbfinder/

Kanopy. An award-winning video streaming service providing access to more than 30,000 independent and documentary films ─ titles of unique social and cultural value from The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Media Education Foundation, and thousands of independent filmmakers. Limited number of titles currently available. Faculty may request access to specific titles through their Subject LibrarianSearch starting at the Database Finder: https://apps.library.albany.edu/dbfinder/

Sources of Free (or almost free) Video Content

Free and Open Video Resources

The American Experience, PBS

A widely-recognized (winner of Emmy Awards, George Foster Peabody Awards, and an Academy Award nomination, among others) documentary series focused on American History. It offers full-length films, film cllps, and digital shorts.  https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/americanexperience/

American Memory, Library of Congress

Films and videos covering a wide range of topics including American music, film, and Civil Rights, in the Library of Congress Digital Collections. https://www.loc.gov/collections/?fa=original-format:film,+video

The Annenberg Learner

Multimedia resources for K-12 teachers with an emphasis on student learning and on professional development. https://www.learner.org/

The Civil Rights Digital Library

Archival moving images, reference resources and instructional resources for educators. http://crdl.usg.edu/media_types/visual/moving_images/

Documentary Heaven

Educational documentaries covering a wide range of topics and presented from varying points of view, organizing by category and searchable by frequency of use. https://documentaryheaven.com/

Folkstreams

A non-profit site dedicated to finding, preserving, contextualizing, and showcasing documentary films on American traditional cultures. In its "Rights" section, it notes that the film makers have given permission to stream their work for users to watch free of charge on their home computers, but that for other permissions, i.e., downloading, using the footage in other projects or videos, or projecting the streams in a classroom or institution, the user should apply to Folkstreams or to the filmmaker, whose film may available as a high quality DVD from a distributor. https://www.folkstreams.net/

Forum Network (WGBH-Boston)

"The Forum Network is a public media service of that makes freely-available hundreds of video and audio lectures from scholars, authors, artists, scientists, policymakers, and community leaders. Major support is provided by The Lowell Institute, an organization created to carry out the 1836 bequest of John Lowell Jr., to make free public lectures available to the citizens of Boston and beyond." https://forum-network.org/

FRONTLINE

A PBS documentary series with a focus on investigative journalism regarding contemporary issues in American Society. https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/

IMDb

Internet Archive, Moving Image Archive. Almost 6,000,000 titles available to download or view, including feature films (predominantly older titles), news media, and television programs/clips/commercials. Search is intuitive but not advanced. https://archive.org/details/movies

National Film Board of Canada. Access to a broad range of films, documentaries, and their amazing animations. 65 subjects for broad search capability. Brief collection of curated clips for the classroom. https://www.nfb.ca/films/Advanced search on the institutional web site but not linked back to the online collection. http://onf-nfb.gc.ca/en/our-collection/search-collection/

NOVA, PBS. Excellent source of educational videos on a range of topics, from Arts and Culture to Drama and Food. Create a free account to expand your viewing options. https://www.pbs.org/video/

POV, PBS. "POV (a cinema term for “point of view”) is television’s longest-running showcase for independent nonfiction films. POV premieres 14-16 of the best, boldest and most innovative programs every year on PBS. Since 1988, POV has presented over 500 films to public television audiences across the country. POV films are known for their intimacy, their unforgettable storytelling and their timeliness, putting a human face on contemporary social issues." http://www.pbs.org/pov/

Open Video Project. UNC Chapel Hill. "The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities. Researchers can use the video to study a wide range of problems, such as tests of algorithms for automatic segmentation, summarization, and creation of surrogates that describe video content; the development of face recognition algorithms; or creating and evaluating interfaces that display result sets from multimedia queries." https://open-video.org/index.php 

TED Talks. "TED is a nonpartisan nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talksTED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 110 languages." Provocative, often brilliant, many presentations can serve as a launch for serious class discussion. www.ted.com 

University at Albany Libraries (UA access only). Almost 4,000 videos available online. Search the catalog for "media," then filter as "available online," Resource Type "videos". Continue to filter by language, subject, etc. Two excellent databases for additional content can be discovered in the Database Finder, AVON (Academic Video Online/66,000 titles), and Kanopy. https://library.albany.edu/

Wikipedia Commons. "Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language." Drill down through the links to search by category. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Category:Videos

YouTube. YouTube is a video sharing service that allows users to watch videos posted by other users and upload videos of their own. Search is simple, you can subscribe to channels that you like, or save sites for viewing later. To filter your results for material with a CC BY Creative Commons license, click on Filter when you get your search results and select "Creative Commons" under Features. Most material is free but others you can buy or rent, or watch for free if you don't mind the ads. 

Subscription Video and TV Services

TV and Video Streaming Services. Nearly all of the streaming video services offer free trial periods. This is just a selection of what's available, as the markets and technology are rapidly evolving. 

Amazon Prime Video. "Prime Video is a video streaming service available for Amazon Prime members. With an eligible Amazon Prime membership, you have access to thousands of Prime Video titles at no additional cost." Amazon Video is a pay-per-view option. https://www.amazon.com/

HBO Max. "HBO Max is a platform offered by WarnerMedia that features 10,000 hours of premium content bundling all of HBO together with even more movies, shows and Max Originals for the whole family, including Friends, South Park, The Big Bang Theory, Wonder Woman, the Studio Ghibli collection, and much more." https://www.hbomax.com/

Hulu with Live TV. Hulu with Live TV provides between 50-70 live TV channels, including popular sports and entertainment networks. You also get a selection of local channels, although not as many as some competitors. https://www.hulu.com/welcome

Netflix. A streaming service giant that allows members to watch a wide variety of award-winning TV shows, movies, documentaries, and more on internet-connected devices. https://www.netflix.com/

Philo. "If you want sports, local TV shows, or news channels, Philo isn’t for you." But if you regularly watch entertainment TV networks like the History Channel, Discovery Channel, IFC, Cooking Channel, HGTV, and similar cable networks. this may be a good option. https://www.philo.com/

Sling TV. You can get both sports and entertainment from Sling TV, and includes a growing number of local broadcast TV stations from the major broadcast networks. https://www.sling.com/

YouTube TV. Over 85 channels with up to 6 user profiles included in your subscription with no contracts, allowing students a chance to share the cost. https://tv.youtube.com/welcome

Sources of Free (or almost free) Streaming Audio Content

Streaming Platforms (cloud-based services with collections of music sorted by genre or artist):
Amazon Prime Music (free for Amazon Prime subscribers): Available through iOS and Android apps, desktop app, web player, connected speaker support platforms as well as in cars. Ad-free. https://music.amazon.com/home

Deezer: Available through OS and Android apps, and Web UX platforms. MP3 qnd FLAC files. https://www.deezer.com/us/

Pandora: Available through iOS and Android apps, Web UX, smart device integration platforms.Personalized playlists. Frequent ads. https://www.pandora.com/

Slacker Radio/LiveXLive: Available through iOS and Android apps, Web UX, smart device integration, and connected cars.A live music platform for concerts and festivals, audio stations, original shows, and podcasts. https://www.livexlive.com/music?utm_campaign=slacker-redirect

Spotify Free: Available through iOS and Android apps, desktop app, web player, smart TV apps, connected speaker  support, and in cars. https://www.spotify.com/us/

YouTube/Music: Available through iOS and Android apps. Frequent ads. https://music.youtube.com/

 

Streaming Radio Networks:

Accuradio: Available through iOS and Android apps, smart device integration, and Web UX platforms. Independent, multi-channel internet radio.Personalized playlist capabiity. https://www.accuradio.com/

iHeartRadio: Available through iOS and Android apps, smart device integration, and Web UX platforms. Has an inventory of songs as well as radio network. https://www.iheart.com/

MixCloud: Available through iOS and Android apps, smart device integration, Web UX. https://www.mixcloud.com/

SiriusXM: The free option for Sirius XM has ended, but low cost offers are still available. https://www.siriusxm.com/

Sonos Radio: Requires the Sonos app for iOS/Android/desktop to play on Sonos hardware only (so, not free). https://www.sonos.com/en-us/sonos-radio

TuneIn: Available through iOS and Android apps, smart device integration, and Web UX platforms. Radio stations and podcasts. 320Kbps bitrate offers excellent sound quality. (free trial)  https://tunein.com/

Getting Permission for Copyrighted Audio and Video

Code of Best Practices for Fair Use of Online Video:by The Program on Information Justice and Intellectual Property, Washington College of Law and The Center for Media & Social Impact at American University. https://cmsimpact.org/code/code-best-practices-fair-use-online-video

The Society for Cinema and Media Studies Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use in Teaching for Film and Media Educators: (Section dealing with obtaining permissions) https://cmsimpact.org/code/society-cinema-media-studies-statement-best-practices-fair-use-teaching-film-media-educators/

Content Delivery via Zoom

Campus Resources for Zoom Video Conferencing and Teaching

Zoom Wiki. The best resource for all things Zoom at the University at Albany. Links for how to get connected, using the service, scheduling, recording, breakout rooms, and security information. Most current information available on campus. https://wiki.albany.edu/display/public/askit/Zoom

Zoom: The Basics. Campus ITS. Four page pdf this is a good introduction, including how to record, save and share presentations. Additional links to zoom "tips and tricks" resources are worth exploring. https://www.albany.edu/it_services_images/Zoom_Basics.pdf

Zoom Training Videos.  A good place for those brand new to the technology. https://www.albany.edu/covid-19/keep-working/zoom-training-videos 

Keep Teaching. Campus ITS. https://www.albany.edu/its/keepteaching.php

"Zoom offers video, audio, wireless screen-sharing, polling and breakout rooms. Get started on Zoomlearn the basics or explore more features of this service. Now professors can add Zoom class meetings to Blackboard courses. Visit our Zoombombing Resources page to protect your class from unwanted interruptions. For added Great Dane spirit, download and use UAlbany-themed Zoom backgrounds."

Zoom Security Guidance. Watch for updates. More security information available in the University Wiki (see the first entry, above). https://www.albany.edu/covid-19/zoom-security-guidance

New Zoom Security Settings (August 10, 2020). https://www.albany.edu/covid-19/news/2020-new-zoom-security-settings

Zoom Settings for Security, Privacy, and Managing Participants in Class Meetings (August 17, 2020). https://wiki.albany.edu/display/public/askit/Zoom+Settings+for+Security%2C+Privacy%2C+and+Managing+Participants+in+Class+Meetings

Digitizing at UA for the Classroom

Educational Technology Services. https://www.albany.edu/its/82184.php. "Educational Technology Services (ETS) is a central hub providing access to a range of IT services, including educational technology consulting, video services, test scanning, and assistance with learning management systems like Blackboard, VoiceThread and Ensemble Video."

Video Streaming. ITLAL. Through ITLAL, digitize your existing media for use in the classroom.  https://www.albany.edu/teachonline/resources/tools/streaming.shtml

Teaching and Learning. Campus ITS. Instructional technology, tools, and resources directly supporting teaching and learning. Information on Lecture Capture. https://wiki.albany.edu/display/ITSServiceCatalog/Teaching+and+Learning

Create Your Own Video Content for the Classroom

CamStudio. "CamStudio is able to record all screen and audio activity on your computer and create industry-standard AVI video files and using its built-in SWF Producer can turn those AVIs into lean, mean, bandwidth-friendly Streaming Flash videos (SWFs)." https://camstudio.org/

Filmora Scrn. The trial version of Filmora9 includes all of the same features as the full version. The only difference is the exported videos in the trial version are watermarked. https://filmora.wondershare.com/screen-recorder/

GoodFirms Blog. A list of (7) free, open source screen recording software. https://www.goodfirms.co/blog/top-7-free-and-open-source-screen-recording-software

Open Broadcaster Software (OBS). Free open source software, top pick of the University Libraries IMC. "High performance real time video/audio capturing and mixing. Create scenes made up of multiple sources including window captures, images, text, browser windows, webcams, capture cards and more." https://obsproject.com/