LibGuides: Resource Guide for Gerontology: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Aging by David J. Ekerdt (Editor)
Call Number: Dewey Library / Reference: HQ 1061 E534 2002 also ONLINE
ISBN: 0028654722
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
Online full text encyclopedia on social gerontology. Click title for online access.
Encyclopedia of Health and Aging by Kyriakos S. Markides (Editor)
Call Number: Dewey Library / Reference: RA 777.6 E534 2007
ISBN: 9781412909495
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
Click title for online access. Although primarily concerned with the physical and mental health conditions faced by the elderly, this encyclopedia also highlights notable research in the area of aging and includes quite a bit of information on what they call “sociodemographic and cultural factors."

Encyclopedias are a good place to look when you are trying to get a basic feel for a topic. Encyclopedia entries provide more information about a concept than a simple definition. The level of detail that is provided may vary from publication to publication. Encyclopedia entries may also provide resources for futher information. Use an encyclopedia when you need a quick overview of a subject, or are looking to refine a broad idea that you have for a paper.

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying by Macmillan Library Reference Staff
Call Number: Online /HQ 1073 M33 2003EB WWW
ISBN: 9780028656892
Publication Date: 2002-08-23
Online full text encyclopedia on death and dying. Click title for online access.
Encyclopedia of Adult Development by Robert J. Kastenbaum (Editor)
Call Number: Dewey Library / Reference: BF 724.5 E53 1993
ISBN: 0897746694
Publication Date: 1993-10-01
Although this book covers adult life beginning with age 21, there is significant content relating to the physical, social, and psychological changes faced by aging individuals. There are also entries on socio-cultural topics, public policy, and ethnic groups.
Encyclopedia of Gerontology by James E. Birren (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Dewey Library / Reference: RC 952.5 E58 2006
ISBN: 0123705304
Publication Date: 2006-11-30
Broad based coverage of gerontology concepts, focusing primarily on social, psychological, and health/medical topics.
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care by Elizabeth A. Capezuti (Editor); Eugenia L. Siegler (Editor); Mathy D. Mezey (Editor); Joan Dunbar (Editor); Regina M. Won (Editor)
Call Number: Dewey Library / Reference: RC 954 E53 2008
ISBN: 9780826102591
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Topics include geriatrics, assessment and evaluation instruments, caregiver issues, social and health care policy. Web addresses and key search terms are included in many of the entries.

Annual Review of Geriatrics And Gerontology

Annual Review of Gerontology and Geriatrics by various editors
Call Number: Dewey Library / RC 952 A1 A56
ISBN: 9780826117359
Publication Date: 1988 - present
- Varieties of aging vol. 8
- Geriatrics and psychological interventions vol. 9
- Special focus on the biology of aging vol. 10
- Focus on medications and the elderly vol. 12
- Focus on kinship, aging, and social change vol. 13
- Focus on assessment techniques vol. 14
- Focus on nutrition vol. 15
- Focus on managed care and quality assurance vol. 16
- Focus on emotion and adult development vol. 17
- Focus on interventions research with older adults vol. 18
- Focus on psychopharmacologic interventions in late life vol. 19
- Focus on the end of life vol. 20
- Focus on modern topics in the biology of aging vol. 21
- Focus on aging in context vol. 23
- Focus on intergenerational relations across time and place vol. 24
- Aging healthcare workforce issues vol. 25
- Crown of life vol. 26
- Biopsychosocial approaches to longevity vol. 27
- Gerontological and geriatric education vol. 28
- Life-course perspectives on late-life health inequalities vol. 29
- Pathways through the transitions of care for older adults vol. 31
- Emerging perspectives on resilience in adulthood and later life vol. 32

Each year of this annual review is focused on a specific topic regarding aging and geriatrics.

Research Guides

Resource Guide for Gerontology

Subject Guide

Encyclopedias

Annual Review of Geriatrics And Gerontology