Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
= UAlbany only resource
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
This database includes bibliographic information of scholarly articles from key journals primarily on Latin American and U.S. Latino topics. Indexing of book reviews 1970-2001. Coverage:. 1970-
Fulltext?Click on the "Find it" icon. You can limit your searches to citations to full-text only.
Specialized in U.S. latino issues. Offers bibliographic information on journal articles, books, book chapters, newspaper articles and anthologies.
Coverage:. Date coverage varies depending on individual titles. 1960s + (with some older coverage).
Fulltext?Click on the"Find it" icon.
CLASE: Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades
Includes bibliographic information for more than 1,500 journals and 250,000 bibliographic entries (mainly journal articles) published in Latin America and the Caribbean. Specializes in social sciences and humanities. Allows searches for records including full-text freely available on the Internet.
Hanbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
No. If you know the journal where your article was published, search for it in our
Open Access Databases
BIBLAT. Bibliografía Latinoamericana en revistas de investigación científica y social
Biblat an specialized portal focusing on scientific journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
This independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.
LA Referencia gives visibility to the scientific production of higher education and research institutions in Latin America, promotes open and free access to the full text, with special emphasis on publicly financed results. This project provides access to journal articles, dissertations, master thesis, books, books chapters, and technical reports.
Latin American and Caribbean Social Science Virtual Library - CLACSO
This virtual library provides full-text access to articles, books, dissertations and other documents specialized in the social sciences in Latin America and the Caribbean and published by CLACSO (Latin American Council of Social Sciences). Also links to full-text documents available in other digital libraries and portals.
Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina, El Caribe, España, y Portugal (Redalyc)
This portal provides full-text access to journals about Latin America in the social sciences and the humanities. Mainly published in Latin America, Spain and Portugal.
Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO)
Full-text access to scientific journals published in Latin American countries
English-language Newspaper Articles
Newspapers.com World Collection is an online database of 10,000+ historical newspapers from the early 1700s into the 2000s. It contains a diverse blend of full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to local newspapers in the United States and other English-speaking countries. It provides greater opportunities for longitudinal and comparative analysis of historical events and people.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text access to the following newspapers: Boston Globe 1872-1989; New York Times 1851-2017. If you need more recent articles from the New York Times, try this link instead: https://bit.ly/3qfCO0G
Spanish, French and Other Languages Newspaper Articles (also includes articles in English)
Access to over 100 Spanish-language news sources such as Reforma (Mexico) El Mercurio (Chile)
How to find them in this database?
1. Click on "Advanced Search" (located right below your search box, on your left)
2. Select the"News" tab (right above the search box)
3. Type your keywords
3. Scroll-down and select or type in your languages (see Language menu)
4. Additionally, you can also select the title of your newspaper (see Source menu)
5. Click on search and you will get your results!
6. You can narrow down your results by selecting any of the filters on the left side of your screen.