LibGuides: LCS 300: The Research Experience in Latin American, Caribbean, and Latinx Studies: Data &Statistics

United States Sources.
= UAlbany only resource

Data USA
Visualization of U.S. public data
The Hispanic Databook : Detailed Profiles of States and 782 Places with Hispanic Population, Including 23 Ethnic Backgrounds From Argentinean to Venezuelan, with Rankings and Comparisons of States, Counties and Places
Hispanic Origin - (U.S. Census Bureau)

PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a fully web-based Geographic Information System (GIS) and mapping product. Data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates. A complete list of GIS data available can be found in their data directory.

U.S. Census Bureau

International Sources

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research
Find and download data sets and documentation in sociology, political science, education, economics, and other areas. Users may search for data, but will need to create an account to download data.

IMF Data (International Monetary Fund)
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them
International Historical Statistics. The Americas 1750–1993
Print version: International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-2000 / B.R. Mitchell. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2003. (Reference Collection HA 175 M55 2003.
Re3data.org
Large catalog of data repositories in all disciplines.
Sage Data
A multidisciplinary data repository covering business, economics, finance, social sciences, demographics, public health, and more. Contains many tools for exporting, comparing, analyzing and visualizing the datasets.

Statista
Access statistical data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government, categorized into 21 market sectors.

United Nations. Statistics Division
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data. Browse by country or indicator
World DataBank
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. Created by the World Bank.

Latin American/Caribbean Sources

Caribbean Community (CARICOM). Statistics
"The Statistics Programme produces information based on data supplied by CARICOM Member States. These include up-to-date Economic and Social data in the areas of Balance of Payments, Government Operations, Consumer Price Indices, External Debt and more."
CEPALSTAT
Databases and statistical publications published by the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC/CEPAL) Part of the UN. Digital edition of the Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean . Print edition available in our reference collection HA 751 U52X
Country Statistical Yearbooks. North America (including Central America & Caribbean)
Guide from UW-Madison Libraries
Country Statistical Yearbooks: South America
Guide from UW-Madison Libraries
Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) Open Data Catalog
Open Data portal of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) that showcases socio-economic indicators for the Latin American and the Caribbean Region.
Redatam
"The program uses a compressed hierarchical database, which can be created in R+G4, and which can contain microdata and/or aggregated information with millions of records for persons, houses, city clocks or any geographical division of a country. These data can come from any combination of census, survey or other sources." Created by the Population Division of ECLAC/CEPAL (Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean)
Statistical Abstract of Latin America. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center Publications, 1956-. (Ref HA 935 S8) Latest issue shelved in Ref.
Last volume published in 2002. Publication ceased but still back volumes still useful for historical statistics.

Specialized Data in an Specific Topic

Centro de Información para la Mejora de los Aprendizajes (CIMA)
Multilingual education data portal to support improvements in learning. It contains comparable indicators and statistics for Latin America and the Caribbean. CIMA centralizes data from three main sources: harmonized household surveys, learning assessments and administrative data.Launched by the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)
DHS Program. Demographic and Health Surveys
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA)
"IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present."
Latin American Databank (LAD)
Latin American datasets acquired, processed and archives by the Roper Center (Cornell University) for Public Opinion Research.
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
Surveys related to Public Opinion in Latin America. Created by Vanderbilt University. Free access. Free Files . Datasets can only be used for research purposes.
Latinobarómetro
Public Opinion data for Latin America. Developed by Corporación Latinobarómetro, a ONG in Chile.
LIS Cross-National Data Center in Luxembourg
"LIS acquires datasets with income, wealth, employment, and demographic data from a large number of countries, harmonises them to enable cross-national comparisons, and makes them available for public use by providing registered users with remote access." Free registration for academic use.
Living Standards Measurement Study (LSMS)
"household survey program focused on generating high-quality data, improving survey methods, and building capacity. The goal of the LSMS is to facilitate the use of household survey data for evidence-based policymaking." Created by the World Bank.
World Health Organization. Pan American Health Organization. Data

LCS 300: The Research Experience in Latin American, Caribbean, and Latinx Studies

United States Sources. = UAlbany only resource

International Sources

Latin American/Caribbean Sources

Specialized Data in an Specific Topic

United States Sources.
= UAlbany only resource