General Reference Resources
Please click on the resource's title to be led to the source.
Oxford Dictionary of Arts and Artists by Ian Chilvers
EISBN: 9780191782763
Publication Year: 2015
This dictionary focuses on Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present. It includes over 2,500 entries on art styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. This source is helpful for accessing concise information on the different aspects of art history. It only occasionally provides images in the entries, making it challenging to understand the discussed subjects fully. Yet, the dictionary is beneficial for those studying Western art.
Oxford Dictionary Plus Art and Architecture
EISBN: 9780191823480
Publication Year: 2016
A dictionary consisting of entries on artists, architects, and their works. It covers non-Western and Western art by providing descriptions of artistic movements, techniques, and materials used. Also, it includes background information about artists and their notable achievements, although not all entries provide specific details on their artworks. This resource is helpful for students because it has detailed, concise entries that discuss historical and contemporary artists and their artworks.
Subject-Specific Encyclopedias
The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art by Joan Marter
EISBN: 9780199739264
Call Number: N 6505 G76 2011
Publication Year: 2011
This encyclopedia concentrates on American art and architecture, spanning from the period of Native American art to contemporary American art. The entries discuss various subject areas in American fine art, such as artist biographies, architects and patrons, architecture, paintings, photography, sculpture, and installation art. Additionally, each entry has a detailed bibliography, displaying the article’s credibility and allowing students to find further research on a specific topic. This resource is beneficial for students who want to gain a deeper understanding of American art.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by Gordon Campbell
ISBN: 9780195300826
Call Number: N 5610 G76 2007
Publication Year: 2007
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture features articles providing information on art and cultural contexts from antiquity to the fall of the Roman Empire. Entries discuss artists, philosophers, archaeological sites, notable artworks, rulers, and art forms. It is a lengthy text that does not have page numbers in the table of contents for easier navigation. However, it is a beneficial source that offers in-depth historical information about Classical Art with several illustrations.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture BY Jonathan M. Bloom and Sheila S. Blair
EISBN: 9780195373042
Publication Year: 2009
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture offers entries solely concentrating on Islamic art and architecture across the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe. The entries contain historical and cultural information, such as stylistic developments, art forms, and dynasties. Navigation is accessible with alphabetically organized entries and an option to search within the work. Most of the entries do not have images of artworks, but it is still an excellent source for students who want to learn more about Islamic Art and Architecture since it has in-depth entries with bibliographies.