A search platform that offers access to a broad collection of digitized art history sources. This includes full-text, multilingual documents like printed art literature, rare books, exhibition catalogs, and auction catalogs. The resources are freely accessible and are available to download. While most texts are older, the portal is useful for finding historical sources dating from the 11th century.
The Met digital collection contains detailed information about the museum’s collection. Users can browse through the collections organized by time, types of artifacts, and items from personal collections. This resource is beneficial for accessing descriptive information and high-quality images of specific artworks, their chronology, and their origin. However, not all entries have images or complete descriptions.
The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History provides a chronological, geographic, and thematic survey of the museum’s collection. This resource contains essays on various topics, such as artists, movements, and materials. It also provides timelines from different periods and detailed information on more than 8,000 objects in the collection. The timeline is beneficial for students who want a broad understanding of art history since it focuses on both non-Western and Western works. Although it concentrates on the MET collection, the museum contains numerous artifacts, making it a notable resource for accessing diverse information.
An open educational resource (OER) focusing on art history. It is an interactive website with essays, videos, and high-quality images of artworks provided by over 800 scholars. The content covers art and cultural history from prehistoric to contemporary periods, proving it is an important source for understanding art history. The website is a reliable resource for all audiences since it is used by more than 600 universities, school districts, museums, and libraries to provide detailed information about art.