Websites
“No Known Copyright”
- Website Name: National Parks Service: Civil War
- Resource Type: Website
- Website Link: https://www.nps.gov/civilwar/index.htm
This website is part of the National Park Service. The Civil War section provides information on some of the more well-known broad subject matter. The sections include information on causes, critical battles, key military figures/generals, reconstruction, and the socio-political elements of the conflict, like slavery and life for civilians during the war. There is also a facts page with a nice “cheat sheet” of information like troop strength, casualties, and economic data. One of the more interesting features of this website is the soldier database that is part of the website. Included are the records of soldiers and units. You can look up over 6 million soldiers with information on which regiment and their rank. Also, there is an extensive list of over 400 battles with information on these battles. While the details are not extensive, each battle has a full summary of the most important events of the battle.
U.S. Department of the Interior. (2024.). The Civil War (U.S. National Park Service). National Parks Service. https://www.nps.gov/civilwar/index.htm
- Website Name: Digital History Center- Atlases
- Website Link: https://www.westpoint.edu/research/centers-and-institutes/digital-history-center/digital-history-center-atlases
This website, provided by the West Point Military Academy, provides a variety of maps of Civil War battles, campaigns, and overall strategies. They also have atlases to many other conflicts like ancient battles, the American Revolution, the Napoleonic Wars, World War 1/2, the Vietnam War, and the War in Iraq/Afghanistan. The Civil War maps in question start by showing the campaigns that took place chronologically. The maps of each battle are also in chronological order and show how the units and attacks occurred at different times of the day or week. They highlight troop movements, battle lines, and strategic positions as well. This is one of the best visual representations of how the campaigns and battles unfolded during the Civil War. The visuals are easy to follow, and there is a table of symbols that lets users know how infantry, cavalry, military units, and troop movements are represented on each map. This is a must for users who want to know to get a sense of how battles unfolded.
Digital History Center - Atlases | United States Military Academy West Point. (2017). Westpoint.edu; West Point. https://www.westpoint.edu/research/centers-and-institutes/digital-history-center/digital-history-center-atlases
- Website Article: Abraham Lincoln and Emancipation
- Website Name: Library of Congress: Abraham Lincoln Digital Collection
- Website Link: https://www.loc.gov/collections/abraham-lincoln-papers/articles-and-essays/abraham-lincoln-and-emancipation/
This website article from the Library of Congress details the events that led to the Emancipation Proclamation and describes the political climate at the time Lincoln began considering the proposal. The article describes the perils that Lincoln faced if he attempted to free the slaves without certain conditions. Some of these conditions that are discussed are public opinion, the legal authority, and a major victory in a battle. The article then discusses the origins of the 13th Amendment and Lincoln's problems in passing it in Congress. This article provides a concise look at the major timeline of events that took place during the war that led to the abolishment of slavery. It also provides an interesting look at the negotiations and Lincoln's mindset when determining the right time to use the executive order.
Abraham Lincoln and Emancipation | Articles and Essays | Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress | Digital Collections | Library of Congress. (n.d.). The Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/collections/abraham-lincoln-papers/articles-and-essays/abraham-lincoln-and-emancipation/