IST 605: Clinical Medicine

Springer Nature Link (formally known as SpringerLink)

• Purpose: Springer Nature Link is a comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books, protocols, videos, and reference works. Springer Nature Link encapsulates all imprints published by Springer Nature, including Springer journals and books, Nature (and Nature Academic and Scientific Reports) journals, BMC, Palgrave Macmillan, Apress, and Discover. 
• Functionality: In addition to basic and advanced search functionalities, coupled with search filters, Springer Nature Link includes:
  • Export citations: Export selected citations in RIS format or text 
  • Email articles: Email an article or citation by going into the individual records 
  • Look Inside: Access the first two pages of a document to gauge its value and relevance 
  • Online First: Access peer-reviewed articles before they are published in print 
  • Alerts and RSS feeds: Set up publication (e-TOC: electronic table of contents) alerts or subscribe to Springer's RSS feeds 
  • MyCopy: Order a personal soft cover edition of Springer eBook titles 
  • JournalFinder tool: Allows researchers and authors to find a specific journal based on keywords, abstracts, and titles
    • This option also presents researchers, readers, and authors with a variety of relevant journals
• Intended Audience: Springer Nature Link covers a variety of subjects including biomedical and life sciences, business and management, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, economics and finance, education, energy. engineering, behavioral science and psychology, and more.  
  • Researchers
  • Academics
  • Authors

Wiley Online Library 

• Purpose: Wiley Online Library is a collection of online journals, books, and research resources, covering life, health, social, and physical sciences, and other subject areas.
• Functionality: In addition to basic and advanced search functionalities, along with search filters, Wiley Online Library includes:
  • Search and discovery tools: Users can search for information in a variety of ways, including advanced search options. Users can also use discipline-based search functionality and searchability of individual subjects within a major discipline
  • Download and citation tools: Users can download e-resources as PDFs and create citations in multiple formats. 
  • Organization tools: Users can add items to a favorites list, track citations, and set alerts for specific e-resources. 
  • Copyright permission tool: Wiley Online Library includes RightsLink®, a built-in tool for managing copyright permissions and usage. 
• Intended Audience: 
  • Researchers
  • Academics
  • Librarians
  • Authors

ScienceDirect (by Elsevier)

• Purpose: ScienceDirect is the world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
• Functionality: In additional to basic and advanced search functionalities, ScienceDirect provides: 
  • Complimentary journals: Full text access in PDF and HTML formats to some Elsevier-published journals 
  • Journals and Ebooks: Access to journals and ebooks in a variety of disciplines, including life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering, social sciences, humanities, and business 
  • Citations and abstracts: Daily updates to citations and abstracts of articles in Elsevier Science journals
  • Compatibility with screen readers
  • Math content in MathML, which can be spoken by text-to-speech engines
  • ARIA (Accessibility for Rich Internet Applications) to enhance navigation
  • Alternative text descriptions for images
  • Searchable text in PDFs
• Intended Audience: ScienceDirect is a resource for researchers, teachers, students, health care professionals, and information professionals. 

WorldCat

• Purpose: WorldCat is the world's largest library community on the web, representing thousands of library locations. Libraries contribute records to WorldCat for their resources and unique holdings. WorldCat allows users to search for materials held by libraries and includes books, periodicals, sound recordings, musical scores, videos, manuscripts, and maps. 
• Functionality: 
  • Users can search for a specific item or a subject, and see what libraries have the item, including obscure materials. 
  • Users can sort by location to find a library nearby.
  • Verify citations 
  • Access a rich assortment of information 
  • Generate citations in APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Turabian formats 
• Intended Audience: WorldCat is not specifically for medicine, however, medical content is available on WorldCat. 
  • General public
  • Researchers
  • Academics
  • Students

JSTOR

• Purpose: JSTOR is a digital library that provides access to scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources. JSTOR can be considered a good starting point for medicine-based research.
• Functionality: In addition to basic and advanced search functionality, JSTOR provides:  
  • A Text Analyzer to find relevant content 
  • The Understanding Series to discover content referencing a passage from a widely studied work
  • A workspace for saving, annotating, and organizing works 
  • JSTOR's collection encompasses: 
    • Open Access books 
    • Open Access journals 
    • JSTOR's Early Journal Content (EJC) 
    • Peer-reviewed scholarly journals 
    • Literary journals 
    • Academic monographs 
    • Research reports 
    • Primary sources from libraries' special collections and archives 
• Intended Audience: JSTOR's primary focus is not medicine, however, JSTOR does provide medicine-based content—please note: this does not include clinical medicine (therefore, JSTOR would function as a good resource for basic science and general medicine-based works).   
  • Researchers
  • Scholars
  • Publishers
  • Students