CIST:605 Organisms of the Deep Sea

1. Google Scholar & Google Books
   • https://scholar.google.com/
   • https://books.google.com/
   • Google Scholar and Google Books are discovery platforms that can be used to find numerous types of resources such as academic articles, journals, books, chapters, data, and more.  Both work very similarly to regular Google with a basic search bar and advanced search features (Google books has an advanced search button only after an initial search has been entered).  There are somewhat limited search filters for both of these discovery platforms so using the advanced search or Boolean operators is encouraged. While Google Scholar is an excellent resource, make sure you check the credibility of the website before you use a source. It is more filtered than regular Google, but it’s still better to check and be aware that some of the sources you come across could be locked behind a paywall making them unusable.

Help Module: https://support.google.com/websearch?p=scholar_dsa&hl=en#topic=3378866

2. WorldCat.org
   • https://search.worldcat.org/
   • WorldCat.org is a unique discovery platform which searches thousands of libraries’ collections and compiles them all in one place for you to browse. You can search for individual items, for different libraries, or for lists. Materials include books, journals, articles, and digital images, and you can find both physical and digital copies of items through this platform. WorldCat.org features an advanced search option and many different filters to help you find the kind of items you are looking for. I would highly recommend selecting the filter to search for open access materials or you may run into many frustrating password walls. This will also get around the site trying to direct you to physical sources that may not be anywhere near your location. I would also recommend selecting the “non-juvenile” filter under Audience in the filter menu of the left in order to access materials more suited to advanced research. For this site you can use keywords and search phrases as you normally would on a database to find sources.

Help module: https://search.worldcat.org/faq

1. Gale OneFile: Science
   • https://go-gale-com.libproxy.albany.edu/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?userGroupName=albanyu&prodId=PPGS
   • Gale OneFile: Science is a massive interdisciplinary science database and the homepage features both a regular search bar and an advanced search option. Under the advanced search tab, there is also a Subject Guide Search, a Publication Search, and a Topic Finder. If you know exactly what terms you want to use, I recommend starting with an advanced search, but if you are still trying to nail things down, I would recommend doing a basic search and refining from there. This is a great site to start your research with and find journal articles, publications, and to find research that can lead you to other sources. If you’re not finding what you’re looking for, try changing the Field from Keyword to something else. This is also where you can search for titles and authors.
2. JoVE: Science Education (environmental sciences > environmental science > search)
   • https://www-jove-com.libproxy.albany.edu/science-education-library 
   • JoVE is another science database but does not follow the typical format. There is a search bar below the page title which functions as a basic search. Once a search is entered, then you can use the filters to change the results. I would highly recommend checking the boxes under the product menu for JoVE Education, JoVE Core, and JoVE Journal to get more relevant and expanded results. Under the Content tab you can filter for all, research, or education, and you can also filter for different authors and institutions. Due to the lack of an advanced search feature, I would recommend using Boolean operators if you’re having trouble getting results. For more info on Boolean operators, see the search strategies page! This resource is not going to be helpful to all and I would use it more for supplementary sources.

Help module: https://help.jove.com/hc/en-us

3. ScienceDirect
   • https://www-sciencedirect-com.libproxy.albany.edu/
   • ScienceDirect is a subject-specific database which focuses on the sciences and provides access to journals, books, and articles. This database features advanced search and filter options that allow you to search within a specific journal or book title, or search through everything in the database if you don’t have a specific title in mind. If you do have a journal you want to use, you can use the advanced search to look for specific volumes, issues, and pages within a journal or book. This is an excellent source to start with if you need to get ideas for a project and want to try out different keywords and search phrases. Here is a link to the database’s help module for how to use the advanced search feature: https://service.elsevier.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/25974/supporthub/sciencedirect/
4. Web of Science (core collection and zoological record)
   • https://www-webofscience-com.libproxy.albany.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search 
   • Web of Science is an interdisciplinary science database and is a great place to start doing research for a project due to its large number of journals, articles, and other document types. You can search for researchers by name or for documents through the database’s comprehensive search system which functions very much like an advanced search on other platforms. The drop-down menu which says “All Fields” can be changed to search for numerous other things and you can add rows for more terms. For this site, you can change what collection you’re searching in. The default is the core collection but I also recommend using the zoological record for different results and you can change between these by using the “Search In” drop-down menu. Like ScienceDirect, Web of Science is incredibly helpful for starting research, generating ideas, and a great place to try out different search terms.

1. Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals
   • https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/160627p/alma9932394066504808 
   • The Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals is a subject-specific encyclopedia available through EBSCOhost. To use this source, ignore the advanced search at the top of the page and scroll down to the table of contents to look through the encyclopedia. The contents and index sections are a good place to start if you don’t have a specific animal in mind or want to know all the places that animal is mentioned. This source is most beneficial to those researching larger and more well-known marine animals and is not suited for microbiology and research on little-known creatures. This source is best used to find basic information and data on animals and does not provide any articles, and is best used as a supplemental resource.
   • Würsig, B. G., Thewissen, J. G. M., & Kovacs, K. M. (Eds.). (2018). Encyclopedia of marine mammals (Third edition.). Academic Press, an imprint of Elsevier.
2. Magill’s Encyclodpedia of Science: animal life
   • https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma9932202629704808
   • Magill’s Encyclopedia of Science: Animal Life is a subject-specific encyclopedia available through EBSCOhost and is best suited for finding supplemental information for research. Access the book by scrolling down to the section labelled “table of contents” and use the link under that section. This source includes animal life from both sea and land animals so you will have to look through the table of contents and index to find the animal types you are looking for. This source also provides definitions for numerous terms in the glossary section, classification tables, terminology, and timelines, as well as a list of journals and organizations that may be of interest to some. This source is best suited for those studying already well-known species or for finding terminology and definitions. 
   • Hoagstrom, C. W., & Hoagstrom, C. W. (2002). Magill’s encyclopedia of science: animal life (C. W. Hoagstrom, Ed.). Salem Press.
3. Encyclopedia of Life
   • https://eol.org/
   • The Encyclopedia of Life is a subject-specific encyclopedia that focuses on life on Earth and is hosted by the Smithsonian: National Museum of Natural History. The basic search bar for this site is located in the top RIGHT corner of the home page and other unique features of this site include a discussion forum, Data search, Exploring Food webs, and Ecological Models pages. There is an advanced search option that comes up once you make your first search. This is an incredible source for anyone studying living creatures and provides access to media, data, articles, and maps. Filters are limited on this site so it's better to search for the type of animal you’re researching and then look through the results and tabs. This source is not recommended for microbiology studies and is better suited to research on larger organisms. 
   • National Museum of Natural History: Smithsonian. (n.d.). Encyclopedia of life. EOL. https://eol.org/   

1. Gale Presents: National Geographic
   • http://libproxy.albany.edu/login?url=https://go.gale.com/ps/i.do?p=NGMA&sw=w&u=albanyu&v=2.1&pg=BasicSearch&it=static&sid=bookmark-NGMA
   •  This source is the version of National Geographic available through Gale and includes archival content going back over 100 years, with all the traditional database search features, filters, and limiters. Searches in this database will yield different results than in the regular National Geographic website. The results found using this product will be in a more traditional database format with a filter menu on the left and can include older articles. The articles themselves are still laid out in magazine format and read more like informative pieces, not academic research articles.

2. Journal of Marine Research
   • https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma9932228470304808
   • The Journal of Marine Research was in print from 1937 to 2021 and covers a broad range of topics including physical, biological, and chemical oceanography. While this journal is no longer in print, it may be useful for comparing older research techniques and methods to newer ones, and note that this source still contains modern and relevant information. To search this journal, either select a year range and look through the article titles, or you can use the search bar to search within the journal. There is an advanced search option, but the filters are rather limited and many of the results will be quite outdated so be sure to check the date on an article before using it.
   • Sears Foundation for Marine Research., & Sears Foundation for Marine Research. (1937). Journal of marine research (Online). Sears Foundation for Marine Research.

3. Marine Biology – Academic Journal, Issues available through EBSCOhost
   • https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma9931861227904808
   • Marine Biology is an academic journal available through EBSCOhost and issues run from 1996-present. To use this resource, you can either use the “search within this publication” button in the upper left corner, or use the linked dates to select a specific issue if you already know which one you’re looking for. This source is best used as supplemental material for research projects. If you are not getting any or few results for your searches, try changing the search field to something different such as “all text” to search within the entire document.
   • Marine biology (Online). (1967). Springer-Verlag Heidelberg

1. MBARI
   • https://www.mbari.org/
   •  MBARI is the official website for the Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute and they partner with the Moss Landing Marine Laboratories in the MLML/MBARI Research Library via San Jose State University. The MBARI website offers free access to scientific articles and data in the areas of biology, ocean imaging, robotic technology, seafloor, and sounds. See the Publications and Data tabs at the top right of the MBARI homepage to access these articles and search options. To access the MLML/MBARI Library, select the "Education” dropdown and then click on “library”. This website works like many other databases, but may be more limited in the scope of topics covered as they only focus on areas that the MBARI institute researches. https://mlml.sjsu.edu/library/
   • MBARI: Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute. Advancing marine science and engineering to understand our changing ocean. Website. https://www.mbari.org/
2. National Geographic
   • https://www.nationalgeographic.com/
   • This version of National Geographic is the regular website. While valuable information can still be found here, there are some limitations in comparison to the Gale version. To search this site, use the search bar in the top right menu, but be aware that there is no advanced search option and filter options are limited. Also note that this site is individual subscription based and there may be paywalls and email sign-ups that block access to certain articles and features.
   • National Geographic. (n.d.). https://www.nationalgeographic.com/

1. The Biology of the Deep Ocean
   • https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma9932224916504808
   • This book is an excellent resource to look through for information on deep-sea life. It covers topics such as growth and light, life at the bottom of the ocean, patterns and changes, chemical communication, biodiversity, and more. This source also has an extensive reference list at the end to look for other related sources and topics. It’s a good place to look for supplemental sources for research projects and a way to expand your own reference list. Since this source is quite long, check out the search strategies section of this guide for tips on how to speed up your search!
   • Herring, P. J. (2002). The biology of the deep ocean (1st ed.). Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/oso/9780198549567.001.0001

2. The Deep Ocean: Life in the Abyss
   • https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma9932580492404808
   • The Deep Ocean: Life in the Abyss is an excellent resource to look through for information on life in the deep ocean. Topics covered include an introduction to the deep ocean, oceanography, deep-sea organisms, habitats, global patterns, and more. This book also includes classifications of deep-sea species, a glossary, index, and a list of other resources to look at if this book doesn’t cover the topic you are researching. This book was just published in 2023, so it is much more likely to cover newer research, discuss recently discovered species, and cover the latest cutting-edge research technology. It is very easy to navigate this source using the table of contents list on the left side of the page and if you need help looking through it faster, see the search strategies page for tips! This source also includes some fantastic photographs and charts.
   • Vecchione, M., Allcock, L., Priede, I., & Haren, H. V. (2023). The deep ocean: Life in the abyss. Princeton University Press.

3. Life at Vents and Seeps
   • https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma9932215984404808
   • Life at Vents and Seeps is a book which is available online through EBSCOhost and can be read via a pdf or downloaded and printed. This book is relatively new, being published in 2017 so it should include fairly recent research, new species, and up-to-date research techniques and technology. It covers in-depth information on life in the deep ocean and how that life reacts with and has adapted to the extreme surrounding environments. Different seep types covered include methane, hydrocarbon, and cold seeps, as well as hydrothermal vents, mud volcanoes, alkaline springs, and more. This source will be more suited to those studying marine microbiology and oceanography, and is in the same series as the book Microbial Life of the Deep Biosphere.
   • Kallmeyer, J. (Ed.). (2017). Life at vents and seeps (1st ed.). De Gruyter. https://doi.org/10.1515/9783110493672
4. Marine Biodiversity and Ecosystem Functioning: Frameworks, Methodologies, and Integration - Chapter 9: Extending the           approaches of biodiversity and ecosystem functioning to the deep ocean
   • https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/itk8ks/cdi_proquest_ebookcentralchapters_7035629_91_128 
   • This source is a book chapter focusing on biodiversity and ecosystems of the deep ocean and taking related methodologies intended for other ecosystems and adapting them to the deep ocean environment. To look through this chapter, scroll down to the table of contents and select chapter 9. In the menu on the left side of the page there is a “search within” feature that allows you to search within the entire book and you can also use Ctrl+F to look for keywords and phrases. This is an excellent source for those researching biodiversity and environmental issues and the entire book can be used, but chapter 9 specifically focuses on biodiversity and ecosystems.  
   • Danovaro, R., Aspden, R. J., Paterson, D. M., & Solan, M. (2012). Extending the approaches of biodiversity and ecosystem functioning to the deep ocean. In Marine Biodiversity and Ecosystem Functioning. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199642250.003.0009 

5. Microbial Life of the Deep Biosphere
   • https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma9932211072204808
   • Microbial Life of the Deep Biosphere is a book available online through EBSCOhost and primarily covers aquatic microbial in the deep ocean. This book looks at a wide variety of sub-topics including prokaryotic populations, life in the ocean crust, microbial identification, marine fungi, and more. Check out the index for specific page numbers, or take a look at the reference list to expand your own. Also of note – at the very end of the book there are two other similar books by the same author dealing with similar topics. This source is most suited primarily to those studying microbiology and marine mycology.
   • Kallmeyer, J., & Wagner, D. (Eds.). (2014). Microbial life of the deep biosphere (1st ed.). de Gruyter. https://doi.org/10.1515/9783110300130

1. Life: Episode 8, creatures of the Deep
   • https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma991059953994904801
   • Life: Episode 8, Creatures of the Deep is a 50-minute documentary which highlights a number of deep-sea creatures including spider crabs, giant squid, humboldt squid, pacific giant octopus, arctic starfish, and more. This documentary site includes a transcript for speedy keyword searching and a citation feature. Filmed in 2009, this is not the most up-to-date source, but it’s not too bad either and might be most beneficially used to gain extra information about a topic or to do preliminary research. This source is recommended more for intro-level courses and less so for advanced research.
   • Lucas, N., Holmes, M., Attenborough, D., BBC Earth, film distributor, British Broadcasting Corporation, production company, Discovery Channel, production company, BBC Worldwide Americas, I., BBC Earth, film distributor, British Broadcasting Corporation, production company, Discovery Channel, production company, & BBC Worldwide Americas, I. (2009). Life. Episode 8, Creatures of the deep. BBC Worldwide.

2. Nature’s Microworlds: The Deep Sea
   • https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma991059954488804801
   •  Nature’s Microworlds: The Deep Sea is a half an hour-long documentary on life in the deep sea. It focuses on a variety of subtopics including creatures of the deep sea, life on the sea beds, bioluminescence, and life around volcanic vents. This source may not be suitable for advanced research, but still contains valuable information and could provide new ideas for projects and studies. This video does contain a transcript you can use to search for keywords related to your studies and also has a citation feature if you wish to use this source.
   • Mackay-Hope, D., Backshall, S., British Broadcasting Corporation., & British Broadcasting Corporation. (2013). Nature’s microworlds. The deep sea. British Broadcasting Corporation BBC.