Databases & Resources
The databases and academic journals below are great starting points for researching school and education-related topics, such as SEL. These resources include scholarly journals, articles, conference papers, dissertations, and more. Aside from the UAlbany Advance search, each database and journal below will be tailored to resources for educators.
Databases & Resources
- Education SourceEducation Source via EBSCO is a great starting point for teachers, educators, and students in the educational field. Millions of sources are available, ranging from books, articles, conference papers, and reviews. Education Source is a great place to start for finding information specific to Social-Emotional Learning in the classroom, as well as other teachers perspectives and experiences on the topic.
- ERIC (via EBSCO)ERIC is available via EBSCO, and through here, you have access to full-text articles, citations, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, government documents, and all information necessary for educators.
Tip: On this platform, you may filter by full-text directly from the results page. - Gale Product MenuAll available Gale research collections, including archival content, ebooks, primary sources, and business information. Through the Gale Product Menu, you can access Gale In Context: Elementary, Gale OneFile: Educators Reference Complete, Gale Literature Resource Center, and much more. Be cautious of searching directly on the Gale Product menu, as you will get results across all the sources available through the Product Menu.
- UAlbany Advance SearchThe UAlbany Advance Search option allows users to search across the many resources available to the library. When starting with a new topic, this is a great place to begin and then narrow your search and sources from there. However, when using this source, please refer to the search strategies so you can effectively limit your search.
- Journal of early childhood education researchThis is an international open-access journal that publishes high-quality research in the field of early childhood education such as theoretical and empirical double-blind peer-reviewed articles. This journal is best for researchers, educators, and students of early childhood education, as well as parents and early childhood education professionals. Not all sources published in this journal are peer-reviewed, so if seeking peer-reviewed sources, please remember to refine your search.
- Journal of educational research and practiceThis journal provides a forum for studies and dialogue that allows readers to affect social change in the field of education and learning, allowing users to stay up-to-date on what is happening in the education field. Dates in this publication date back to 2012, so filter results according to desired date.
- School Library JournalThe School Library Journal offers news, information, and reviews for librarians and media specialists who serve children and young adults in school and public libraries. Its resources can also benefit other educators who serve the same populations. This link provides publications dating back to 1974, so filtering by desired date and time is necessary for effective results.