SoR Articles
These articles were found using databases from the UAlbany library.
Reading in the Balance: Love it or hate it, the science of reading gains traction in schools
Author: Andrew Bauld
From: School Library Journal (Vol. 69, Issue 5) May 2023
This article was found using the database, Gale Academic OneFile. "Science of reading" is the search term that was used. Evidence-based reading practices that follow the science of reading are now required in 29 states and the District of Columbia. Educators need to be on the lookout for companies falsely advertising the science of reading on their product by sticking a label on it without actually being connected to research. This article briefly defines important terms and approaches including decoding, language comprehension, simple view of reading, phonics, whole language, balanced literacy, three-cueing system, and the science of reading. This article shows where reading started and how our nation has gotten to the point of requiring SoR in schools.
The Science of Reading Progresses: Communicating Advances Beyond the Simple View of Reading
Author: Nell K. Duke & Kelly B. Cartwright
From: Reading Research Quarterly, May 2021 Supplement S1, Vol. 56 Issue 1, pS25-S44, 20p,
This article was found using the database, Education Source. "Science of reading" AND instruction were the search terms that were used. This article takes readers back to 1986 when the Simple View of Reading first was introduced. We now hear about the Simple View of Reading 38 years later more than we have over the past few decades as a way to explain the science of reading. This study shares three key advances that have emerged since the formulation of the Simple View of Reading. Readers will also learn about a variety of reading models including the Active View of Reading, the Rope Model, the DIME and DIER Models and The Componential Model of Reading. All components of the science of reading are looked at in this article and ways to communicate the science of reading are shared.
The science of reading comprehension instruction
Author: NK Duke, AE Ward & PD Pearson
From: The Reading Teacher, 2021 - Wiley Online Library
This article was found using the database, Google Scholar. "Science of Reading" AND comprehension were the search terms that were used. This article shares key understandings about reading comprehension processes and instruction. Often people hear "science of reading" and automatically think about phonics instruction. This article shows how the bridges are built between foundation word reading and reading comprehension development. It shares different aspects of comprehension should be taught. This article includes a visual representation of effective reading comprehension strategies that reflects the findings presented in this article.
Professional Learning Pathways: A Practical Approach to the Structured Literacy Competencies
Author: Kathryn Elizabeth Hinshaw
From: Northeastern University ProQuest Dissertations Publishing, 2023. 30817196.
This dissertation was found using the database, Dissertation and Theses: Global. "Science of reading" is the search term that was used. The purpose of this study was to understand if self-reflective professional development in the area of science of reading improves teacher confidence in teaching reading at a suburban school district. This study shares research related to the science of reading and professional development in teaching reading. Teachers share how their college programs prepared them to teach reading. Information about the science of reading in practice is included in this study.
State of the States 2024: Five Policy Actions to Strengthen Implementation of the Science of Reading
Author: Shannon Holston
From: National Council on Teacher Quality. 2024
This article was found using the database, ERIC (via EBSCO). "Science of reading" is the search term that was used.This report shares that 1.3 million children enter 4th grade unable to read at a basic reading level. Between 2013 and July of 2023, 32 states passed laws or implemented new policies related to evidence-based reading instruction. This report focuses on five policy actions state leaders can take to strengthen teachers' ability to teach reading based on the science of reading. The policy actions include changing teacher prep programs to include the science of reading, change the elementary reading tests for teacher certification, require districts to select a high quality reading curriculum and provide teachers with professional development.
What constitutes a science of reading instruction?
Author: T. Shanahan
From: Reading Research Quarterly, 2020 - Wiley Online Library
This article was found using the database, Google Scholar. "Science of Reading" AND instruction were the search terms that were used. To access this article using the Google Scholar database, click on the PDF to the right of the listing. This articles explains the science of reading and the history of it. The purpose of the article is to increase ones knowledge comprehensively about reading and its development. This article delves into the nature of the kind of evidence that should be the focus of instruction that follows the science of reading.