Stranger Things (2016-Present)
This famous TV show stars a group of friends who are frequently seen playing Dungeons & Dragons together, and then end up fighting many of those D&D monsters in real life. The presence of D&D terminology, gameplay, and lore present in this major TV show has contributed to D&D becoming common knowledge in the pop culture scene.
:max_bytes(150000):strip_icc()/demogorgon-2000-4298774810254a94ac6776afefec09d2.jpg)
"Stranger Things" season 1 villain- the Demogorgon D&D Out of the Abyss (OotA) Demogorgon
To learn more about "Stranger Things," visit Stranger Things IMDb
Livestreams, Videos, and Podcasts
The popularity of livestreams and "Let's Play" style game recordings via apps like Twitch and YouTube has increased the prevalence of Dungeons & Dragons in mainstream media over the past few years. The same applies for the increase in podcast popularity.
Critical Role
"Critical Role is a weekly livestreamed show that uses roleplaying game mechanics as a means to explore and develop stories from the vast fantasy world of Exandria, with sweeping narratives intricately woven through collaboration between Game Master Matthew Mercer and his fellow cast of veteran voice actors, including Ashley Johnson, Marisha Ray, Taliesin Jaffe, Travis Willingham, Sam Riegel, Laura Bailey, and Liam O’Brien" (Critical Role, 2023).
Their first campaign spanned from March 2015 to October 2017. In 2022, The Legend of Vox Machina aired as an Amazon exclusive adult cartoon, streaming on Amazon Prime.
/pic6658858.png)
Critical Role also partnered with Wizards of the Coast to create official D&D books based on the world of Critical Role. Such books include Critical Role: Call of the Netherdeep and Explorer's Guide to Wildemount (See: Official Books)
Where to find Critical Role:
Where to find The Legend of Vox Machina:
Dimension 20
/cdn.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_asset/file/24103188/Cast_Dome_A_copy.jpg)
"Heed the call of adventure and enter Dimension 20 where Game Master Brennan Lee Mulligan, joined by comedians and pro gamers, blends comedy with tabletop RPGs" (Dropout, 2023).
Where to Watch:
For more information relating to D&D and identity, see: Benefits and Applications.
In Cinema- Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves (2023)
Rated PG-13
Where to find it:
While this is the most recent D&D production (and should be noted as having a large media presence) there have been other Dungeons & Dragons films and shows released through history. To learn more about these other published films and shows, utilize IMDb. Consider searching "Dungeons & Dragons" as a keyword. Searching as a keyword will result in 264 matches of media that contain Dungeons & Dragons in the title, description, or associated in another way.
In Video Games- Baldur's Gate 3 (2023)
RATED MATURE. Not suitable for young children.
According to PBS, a Mature rating is best for ages 17 and up.
Baldur's Gate 3 takes place in the official Dungeons & Dragons universe, in the land of the Forgotten Realms (See: Dungeon Master's Guide). Design your own character based on the official D&D races and classes and go on an adventure to recover your memories and heal your team of a slimy, parasitic infestation.
The game follows many of the D&D game mechanics, with most actions relying on dice rolls and character stats. However, the storyline of the game is programmed and there is no DM. Character actions are limited in comparison to traditional D&D, but still extremely varied, allowing for a lot of player freedom and creativity.
Official Baldur's Gate 3 Website
Databases and Search Tools
To learn more about D&D media and it's presence in movies and television, visit Film & Television Literature Index or IMDb.
One might also considering a variety of Newspaper Databases, such as Gale OneFile News. Newspapers may provide advertisements and reviews about D&D related media, especially given the public interest in the massive cultural shift throwing D&D into modern popularity. If you are looking for a specific piece of media, you can utilize the media title. If you are unsure, you can first search "Dungeons & Dragons."
If you do not have a specific title in mind but a preferred format of media, you can search "Dungeons & Dragons" AND your format choice. For example, to find out more about Dungeons & Dragons in video games, you might search "'Dungeons & Dragons' AND 'Video Games.'"
- Film & Television Literature Index
This comprehensive bibliographic database provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications related to film and television studies.
- Gale OneFile: News
Find full-text newspaper articles. Search by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
