How to Search Databases and Articles
Putting the "Search" in Research: Suggested Search Terms
When you are searching for an article in a database, sometimes the amount of information can be overwhelming. Where do you start? Before you can search for anything, you need a research topic. Once you have chosen your topic (in this case, bullying in schools), think about what keywords and phrases that might be most specific to the topic. Examples are listed below.
- anti-bullying movements
- bullies
- bullying
- bullying at school
- covert bullying
- cyberbullying
- direct bullying
- harassment
- school bullying
- school violence
- victims of bullying
Once you have your keywords and other related terms, formulate a search strategy using advanced search techniques like Boolean operators in the database.
Boolean Operators: An Easy Guide
Boolean operators are words used to connect search terms to expand or narrow a search. They are used in databases to help locate relevant information. They can be considered a "bridging" word that can bring up more specific results in your search.
- And is used to retrieve records that contain all of the search terms. It narrows the search. Use "and" in between terms that are required to make the search specific. Ex. "children" and "bullying".
- Or is a popular boolean operator that retrieves records that contain any of the search terms. It helps to expand the search. Use "or" in between terms that are synonymous or present equal value to the search. Ex. "women" or "ladies".
- Not is used to eliminate records that contain a search term. It also narrows down a search. Use "not" in front of a term to ensure that the search will not include the particular term. Ex. "image" not "weight" -implying the search is not related to body image, but an image similar to a picture.
Visual learners can think of Boolean operators like a Venn diagram.
Databases Related to Bullying
The following list of databases can be used and accessed through your local library. They relate to the topic of bullying in various forms, as well as other behavioral concepts. The databases are mostly subject-specific with search terms listed below, to not overwhelm you during your search. The tab on the left, Selected Articles on Bullying, contains articles that can be found in these databases. Keep in mind that some databases/articles may require specific library information to access- ask your reference librarian!
- ERIC (via EBSCO)
Find full-text articles and citations for journals, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations, and policy papers in all areas of education. Available on the EBSCO platform.
Tip: On this platform, you may filter by full-text directly from the results page. - Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Find contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues, through full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Social WorkThis comprehensive reference resource for social work and social welfare contains brief articles on all facets of social welfare research, including clinical practice, macro, social policy, social conditions and related topics. Also includes references for more information.
- Oxford Research EncyclopediasThe Oxford Research Encyclopedias offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Each encyclopedia covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Full text covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.