LibGuides: AI at UAlbany: What do Librarians Need to Know? : AI Databases & Research Support

Chat-based Search and Generative AI

BARD
Google throws its hat in the AI ring with this tool. May require a Google account and invite to access.
Bing Chat
Requires Microsoft Edge browser and a login.
ChatGPT
The one everyone's talking about. Not so much of a search tool, but a summarizing and creative tool
Neeva
Newer AI search tool that does not track your data

Brave Browser
This browser promotes its commitment to user privacy and blocking web tracking across sites.
You.com
Another privacy-enhancing browser. Check out YouChat, their generative AI chat functionality

Keenious
Very powerful!: Integrates with your word processing software and gives recommendations of resources based on what you are writing.
Perplexity.ai
Requires Google or Apple login. Creates "threads" for your questions and research
Zeta Alpha
Freemium tool that requires account creation. Content focus is on the Sciences, particularly AI. Creators view this tool as a "personal research assistant"

These are next-gen databases related to citation tracking and research impact.

Dimensions
Freemium service, requires login. Uses linked data and AI to create a comprehensive bibliographic database including citation data and impact metrics
Scite
Originally conceived as a citation classification tool, Scite also provides research recommendations and a browser add-on that displays citation information when you pull up a scholarly article
Semantic Scholar
Free AI-powered bibliographic database for scholarly research. See also their new research support tool: Semantic Reader

DataSeer
Extracts data from diagrams, datasheets, drawings and other unstructured sources. Focus is on engineering.
Elicit
Use for literature searching, summarization, text classification, etc.
Iris.ai
Another "research assistant" that helps with literature reviews, data extraction, etc. in an effective and helpful "Researcher Workspace" display
Laser.ai
Comprehensive searching and filtering for systematic reviews
Prophy
Finds and links experts, peer reviewers, and interdisciplinary synergies
Scholarcy
Free trial requires login. Summarizes, organizes, extracts tables from your saved research articles.
Pubtrawlr
Essentially an AI-powered current awareness service that summarizes articles, extracts data, and provides a customized newsletter.