Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology

Data Archives Links

Australian Data Archive

"The Australian Data Archive (ADA) provides a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data and to make these data available for secondary analysis by academic researchers and other users. ADA supports over 6000 data files from 1500 projects dating back to 1838 through to the present day."

Childinfo.org (Unicef) 

"UNICEF’s Data & Analytics (D&A) team is the global go-to for data on children. It leads the collection, validation, analysis, use and communication of the most statistically sound, internationally comparable data on the situation of children and women around the world." 

Council of European Social Science Data Archives 

"The mission of CESSDA is to provide a full scale sustainable research infrastructure enabling the research community to conduct high-quality research in the social sciences contributing to the production of effective solutions to the major challenges facing society today and to facilitate teaching and learning in the social sciences."

Data Finder: Population Reference Bureau 

The U.S. data in PRB's DataFinder are from the U.S. Census Bureau's decennial census, American Community Survey, and population estimates. "Data are at the core of much of PRB's work to provide rigorous information and distill relevant insights and evidence from it. Access featured indicators, U.S. and international data resources, and the World Population Data Sheet site here."

Demographic and Health Surveys 

"The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.

Economic Indicators 

Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics

Eurostat 

"Your key to European Statistics". 

Henry A. Murray Research Archive 

"The Henry A. Murray Research Archive is Harvard's endowed repository for quantitative and qualitative research data at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science. Our collection comprises over 100 terabytes of data, audio, and video. We provide long-term preservation of all types of data of interest to the research community, including numerical, video, audio, interview notes, and other data."

Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research (ICPSR)

Established in 1962, ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect 

A resource since 1988, NDACAN promotes scholarly exchange among researchers in the child maltreatment field. NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes these datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis.

Public Opinion Poll Question Database

The Odum Institute houses the Louis Harris Data Center, the national depository for publicly available survey data collected by Louis Harris and Associates, Inc.

Record of American Democracy, 1984-1990: ROAD

Downloadable data which include "voting, registration and census data aggregated to Minor Civil Division groups." It also provides voting and voter registration data at the voting precinct level where available. The Record of American Democracy (ROAD) data provide election returns, socioeconomic summaries, and demographic details about the American public at unusually low levels of geographic aggregation. The NSF-supported ROAD project spans every state in the country from 1984 through 1990 (including some off-year elections).

TIMSS & PIRLS International Study Center

From the International Study Center at Boston College, the site is dedicated to conducting comparative studies in educational achievement. The Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS) database contains many educational statistics collected in about 50 countries, including achievement results in mathematics and science. The Progress in International Reading Literacy Study (PIRLS) measures trends in fourth-graders' reading achievement in 50 countries.

United Nations Data 

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) provides an internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.

World Bank Open Data

"World Bank databases are essential tools for supporting critical management decisions and providing key statistical information for Bank operational activities. The application of internationally accepted standards and norms results in a consistent, reliable source of information."

U.S. Government Data and Statistics

A-Z List of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies 

Look up location and contact information for U.S. Government Agencies that are potential sources for data and statistics.

Bureau of Economic Analysis - Data

The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis is one of the world’s leading statistical agencies. BEA promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing timely, relevant, and objective economic data.

Bureau of Justice Statistics 

BJS mission: "To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded."

Bureau of Labor Statistics - United States 

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.

Bureau of Transportation Statistics 

The Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) was established as a statistical agency in 1992. The Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act (ISTEA) of 1991 created BTS to administer data collection, analysis, and reporting and to ensure the most cost-effective use of transportation-monitoring resources. BTS brings a greater degree of coordination, comparability, and quality standards to transportation data, and facilitates in the closing of important data gaps.

Census Bureau - Data

"The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy."

Census Bureau - Older Population and Aging Data

Detailed information and statistics on population aging and the older population are critical for understanding the impact on society and the economy and to inform policies and programs.

Census Publications 

"Publications, briefs and reports from Census Bureau experts."

Childstats.gov – Home 

This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.

CIESIN's Demography 

The Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) is a center within the Earth Institute at Columbia University. CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.

Data.gov 

Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.

Department of Homeland Security Data 

One of the main goals of DHS Open Data is to facilitate the release of DHS high-value datasets whenever possible. High-value datasets include data that: were previously not provided but increase accountability and responsiveness, increase public knowledge, further the core mission of DHS, create economic opportunity or respond to identified needs or demands. DHS will continue to make more datasets available as we follow our process for identifying and approving the release of high-value datasets.

Economic Research Service Data 

"The mission of USDA's Economic Research Service is to anticipate trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making." The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Energy Information Administration 

The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.

GIS Data, USGA

USGS, United States Geological Survey, "is a primary source of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Data. Our data and information is presented both spatially and geographically including The National Map, Earth Explorer, GloVIS, LandsatLook, and much more."

High School and Beyond 

High School and Beyond describes the activities of seniors and sophomores as they progressed through high school, postsecondary education, and into the workplace. The data span 1980 to present and include parent, teacher, high school transcript, student financial aid records, and college transcripts in addition to student questionnaires. From the National Center for Education Statistics.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS USA) 

"IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present."

National Agricultural Statistics Service 

"The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples."

National Center for Education Statistics 

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

National Center for Health Statistics 

"The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation’s principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data."

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics 

"The National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES) is the nation's leading provider of statistical data on the U.S. science and engineering enterprise. As a principal federal statistical agency, NCSES serves as a clearinghouse for the collection, interpretation, analysis, and dissemination of objective science and engineering data."

National Longitudinal Surveys 

The National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) are a set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women. NLS data have served as an important tool for economists, sociologists, and other researchers for more than 50 years. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Office of Management and Budget Statistical Programs and Standards 

Describes Statistical Programs and Standards of the United States Government. "The Office of Management and Budget is charged by statute with coordinating the U.S. Federal statistical system."

Social Security Administration Office of Research, Evaluation and Statistics 

The Social Security Administration Office of Research, Evaluation and Statistics is responsible for sponsoring special-purpose survey data collections and studies to improve data for research and statistics related to social security issues among other data gathering activities.

Statistical Abstracts Series 

The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011. The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstract.

Tax Statistics 

Here you will find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.