LibGuides: Sociology: Reference Materials

Encyclopedia

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by James D. Wright (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080970875
Publication Date: 2015-02-17
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology by Milan Zafirovski (Editor); Jens Beckert (Editor)
Call Number: HM 548 I58 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology is the first encyclopedia in the field and a timely response to the surge of interest in economic sociology over the last 30 years. Economic Sociology deals with the multiple and complex relations between economy and society. In particular, it focuses on the impact of social, political and cultural factors on economic behaviour. The Encyclopedia gives comprehensive and accessible coverage of the wide range of areas and subjects covered by the field, including, amongst many others, such major topics as consumption, corruption, democracy and economy, ecology, embeddedness, gender and economy, globalization, industrial relations, law and economy, markets, organization theory, political economy, religion and economic life, social capital, the sociology of money, state and economy, trust, and work. The International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology is the much-needed major reference work on one of the richest areas of development in the social sciences in recent years. It is an extremely valuable new resource for students and researchers in sociology, economics, political science, and business, organization and management studies. Entries are cross-referenced and carry compact bibliographies. There is a full index.

Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd. Ed. (2001)

"This classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology."

Encyclopedia of Sociology Research (2012)

"This new book presents current research and findings in the study of sociology. Topics discussed include social capital, entrepreneurial capital and economic growth; disruption of social development in children with autism spectrum disorders; children's social interactions in cultural context; everyday theorizing and the construction of knowledge; participation, pedagogy and practice in design education; community participation in formulating sustainable forest policy; increasing the economic sustainability of online communities and a comparison between theoretical and naive definitions of community."

Sociology of Work: An Encyclopedia (2013)

"This multi-disciplinary encyclopedia covers curricular subjects that seek to address that question, ranging from business and management to anthropology, sociology, social history, psychology, politics, economics, and health."

Cultural Sociology of Divorce: An Encyclopedia (2013)

"This multi-disciplinary encyclopedia covers curricular subjects related to divorce as examined by disciplines ranging from marriage and the family to anthropology, social and legal history, developmental and clinical psychology, and religion, all through a lens of cultural sociology."

Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, & Africa: An Encyclopedia (2012)

"In our age of globalization and multiculturalism, it has never been more important to appreciate all cultures and how people live and learn in areas of the world unfamiliar to most US students. These volumes take a step forward in this endeavour by presenting information on those regions likely to be most 'foreign' to US students."

Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Sociology (2014) (UAlbany Community Users Only)

"This dictionary covers terminology, concepts, and thinkers in the field of sociology, as well as from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science."

Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences

"This social science dictionary has 1000 entries covering the disciplines of sociology, criminology, political science and women's study with a commitment to Canadian examples and events and names."

Dictionary of Occupational Titles

"This is the complete Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT) revised fourth edition, as supplied electronically by the US Dept. of Labor, provided, as a public service, by ITA, makers of DOT and O*Net for Windows."

Directories

A-Z List of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies

Find contact information for U.S. federal government departments and agencies, including websites, emails, phone numbers, addresses, and more.