Overview
"There's no business like show business." - Annie Get Your Gun
How many musicals have graced a Broadway stage? Honestly, it's hard to say for sure, but the number is in the thousands.
The resources curated below are to help you research the musicals that have graced the Great White Way over more than a hundred years.
Resources
The Internet Broadway Database: Shows
The Internet Broadway Database is a comprehensive source for all things theatre. This link takes you specifically to the section of the site that features information on the shows themselves. You can select from lists of current or upcoming shows, or choose to search. There are also options to search touring productions.
Playbill
Since 1884, Playbill has been a trusted Broadway resource. From the main page you can click on the link Broadway Shows to see a list of everything currently running on Broadway. (There are also options for Off-Broadway, London and shows currently touring.) You can also click on "News" to see the top Broadway headlines, or use the search feature to find news, articles, details and more about the show you’re researching.
Wait in the Wings (YouTube)
This YouTube series, founded by Brendon Henderson, features Broadway show documentaries from flops (like Spider-man Turn off the Dark) to cult favorites (like Beetlejuice). There are also episodes highlighting memorable sets, costumes and props (like the Audrey II puppet from Little Shop of Horrors). Through their nonprofit, Friends of Wait in the Wings, they aim to preserve the history of Broadway. The series has been featured in Playbill and Vogue.
21st-Century Broadway Musicals and the 'Best Musical' Tony Award: Trends and Impact by Matthew Hodge
Do awards make a big difference on how much money a show makes? This article discusses the components that lead to the success of a Broadway musical. The author studied every musical that won or was nominated for best musical between 2000 and 2019, assessing different factors (including the source material), to ultimately determine if being nominated for a Tony contributes to a show’s success. Author Matthew Hodge is part of the musical theatre department at William Peace University in Raleigh, North Carolina.
Broadway World Database
With over 300,000 entries on everything from shows to performers, Broadway World is the largest theatre database. This link takes you directly to the page where you can easily search for any show you're researching in the handy search bar. In addition, the website also offers news and other industry information. You can also find information on Broadway grosses week by week, with historic data going back to 1984.
At This Theatre: 100 Years of Broadway Shows, Stories and Stars by Robert Viagas and Louis Botto (ISBN: 9781557837646)
This book covers the history of 40 Broadway theatres. For each theatre, you’ll find photos and Playbill covers from the various shows and stars that graced its stage. Keep in mind that this book was published in 2010, and there are now 41 Broadway theatres. This book also only features theatres that were currently still operating at the time of publication.
Filmed on Stage
Need to watch a show? This database collects all professionally filmed Broadway productions. It includes links to shows you can stream online for free, as well as a list of shows that may require a subscription to watch. There is also a search feature, as well as relevant news about filmed Broadway shows.
The Top 20 Longest-running Broadway Shows by Gillian Russo
If you just need a quick list of top running shows, look no further. This recently updated list for the New York Theatre Guide features the 20 longest running shows in Broadway history. While Cats held this title for a long time, it has since been surpassed, several times over. There is a handy list near the top that lets to jump straight to the show you're most interested in.
23 Broadway Shows That Closed Immediately by Graham Techler
Believe it or not, some Broadway shows only lasted a single performance! This list, complied by Graham Techler of Paste Magazine, provides the low-down on 23 Broadway shows that didn't last very long. Even the legendary Stephen Sondheim has a show on this list! Be aware, some of the shows on this list are plays, and not musicals.