Overview
"Some people sit on their butts! Got the dream - yeah, but not the guts!" - Gypsy
It takes more than the actors on stage to bring theatre to life. The hard work of directors, composers, lyricists, choreographers, lighting designers, musicians, stage managers and many more all go into making a show come to life.
These resources have been curated to help you research the people who have contributed to making Broadway shine for over a hundred years.
Resources
Value of Stars on Broadway: A Case Study by Kyle Maclean
Is it worth it to hire a well known star for a Broadway show? This case study aims to answer that question. Using Broadway show revenues and actor usage stats, the author attempted to determine whether having stars in a show leads to increased revenue. While the data showed that hiring stars raised revenue when they were performing, after examining all the data, the full picture was more complicated. An interesting look at the true value of star power.
Broadway Cast & Staff Search
The Internet Broadway Database is a comprehensive source for all things theatre. This link takes you specifically to the section of the site that features information on the people who make theatre come to life. The advanced search feature lets you search by dates and type of role for the person you are researching. (Choreographer? Marketing? Stage manager? It takes a lot more people to put on a show than just the actors.) The search function also has an option to search by organization. Information on each person includes dates of birth (and death, if applicable), a list of their credits, and awards they have won.
Show Tunes: The songs, shows, and careers of Broadway’s major composers by Michael Feinstein (ISBN: 9780195125993)
This reference book is focused on the major Broadway composers whose songs have enchanted millions of fans. It covers the work of beloved composers such as Gershwin, Rodgers, Porter, Sondheim and many more. In fact, it features the entire theatrical output of 36 of Broadway’s leading composers, plus the work of other composers who have written music for the Broadway stage. Between these pages is information on over 900 shows and almost 8,000 showtunes.
Jews on Broadway: an historical survey of performers, playwrights, composers, lyricists and producers by Stewart F. Lane (ISBN: 9781476628776)
Jewish performers and composers like Barbra Streisand and Irving Berlin have left an incredible legacy on Broadway. This book chronicles the history of Jewish performers in American theatre, from immigrants in Yiddish plays to the Broadway stars of today. The book includes photographs and anecdotes from life in the theatre. The author, Stewart F. Lane is a six-time Tony Award winning producer.
Musicals of Stage and Screen: A Guide to Resources at the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress special collections include the personal papers of some of Broadway’s top creative minds. You can browse the special collection by type of performer or type of media. There is also a list of special collections in the music division, and a finding aids database you can search. The database allows keyword searching across all of the Library’s published finding aids. You can narrow your search by collection title or type of collection. There is also the option to restrict your results to only content available digitally.
Top 10 Greatest Broadway Choreographers of All Time (YouTube)
This 17-minute overview provides a snapshot into 10 of the most celebrated choreographers who have developed routines for Broadway. The list was chosen based on who the producers felt were the most influential designers of dance from the theatre world. Utilizing archival footage, the video is a great starting point for anyone looking to research dance on Broadway. Famous choreographers covered in the video include Tommy Tune, Michael Bennett, Agnes DeMille and Susan Stroman.
Black Broadway: African Americans on the Great White Way by Stewart F. Lane (ISBN: 9780757003882)
This book chronicles the history of African-Americans in the theatre, from the late 1800s to today. It features information on pivotal musicals from the 1930s like Porgy & Bess, to the stars of the ‘50s and ‘60s like Ruby Dee and Sidney Poitier. Featuring profiles of actors, composers, lyricists and playwrights, it chronicles the often forgotten history of African-Americans who helped shape Broadway. It is also filled with over 300 photographs, illustrations and Playbill covers.
20 Actresses of the Broadway Stage You Need to Know
This article from Broadway Direct features information on 20 important women who graced the Broadway stage. This includes not only beloved theatre icons like Julie Andrews and Audra McDonald, but also early stars like Vivienne Segal and Marilyn Miller. Each woman has a brief profile and a video featuring some of her work. While the article lacks detailed information, it is a great jumping off point to find a Broadway leading lady you might have otherwise overlooked.