Overview
"History has its eyes on you..." - Hamilton
41 currently operating theatres.
At least 500 seats per theatre.
Since the first show considered to be a Broadway musical, The Black Crook, opened in 1866, millions of fans have flocked to Manhattan's theatre district to lose themselves in song, dance and story for a couple of hours.
The resources below are curated to provide facts and insight into the history of Broadway musicals in general.
Resources
Broadway: an Encyclopedia of Theatre and American Culture edited by Thomas Allen Greenfield (ISBN: 9780313342646)
This comprehensive encyclopedia offers a history of Broadway, starting from its origins in the mid-19th century. It features hundreds of entries and spotlights landmark productions like "Oklahoma" and "Oh Calcutta!". It also features 30 essays discussing the impact theatre has had on life in America, including topics such as race relations, roles of women and technology. There are also 110 profiles featuring people and places whose contributions have made their mark on the Broadway stage
Tony Awards Official Website
Since 1947, the Antoinette Perry “Tony” awards have been celebrating excellence in Broadway theatre. The official Tony Award site features the history of the award itself, as well as a complete list of past winners and nominees. It also features Tony Award news, rules and regulations, an FAQ and facts and trivia. There is also an option to view details about the award ceremonies year by year, including the host and a list of shows that performed.
Broadway: The American Musical by Laurence Maslon (ISBN: 9781493047673)
This book, which is a companion to the six-part PBS mini-series (linked below), features a comprehensive history of Broadway from its early days until the modern era. It also contains a plethora of illustrations and photographs from production stills to scenic renderings. It's been updated to include recent hits such as "Hamilton", "The Book of Mormon" and "Hadestown". The book also features a rich appendix that includes a map of Broadway theatres.
Broadway: The American Musical (YouTube)
This five and a half hour documentary produced by PBS breaks down the history of Broadway into five parts and is packed full of interviews with Broadway legends like Stephen Sondheim, Carol Channing, Julie Andrews and Marvin Hamlisch. Each part covers a different era in Broadway history, and features rare footage like Fanny Brice singing “My Man” and Ethel Merman rehearsing for Gypsy. A must watch for any theatre fan! There is also a companion book (linked above). This documentary was the first comprehensive documentary series on the American musical created for television.
Broadway: America Center Stage (YouTube)
This 30-minute documentary chronicles the rise of Broadway from its origins and into the 1920’s. It features expert interviews, historical footage and photographs that chronicle early Broadway greats like George Cohan, Florenz Ziegfeld, Fanny Brice and George Gershwin. It also discusses the role of Black performers like Bert Williams and why the musical Showboat (often considered the first modern musical) was so groundbreaking. It was produced by Lucasfilm.
Broadway History by Theater
The Internet Broadway Database is a comprehensive source for all things theatre. This link takes you specifically to the section of the site that features information on the history of the theatres themselves. Select a theatre from a list of current Broadway houses and find out when it was built, how many people it seats and the theatre’s full history, including past productions. You can also search by theatre. There are even options to search by non-Broadway New York City theatres or touring theatres.
Historical Dictionary of the Broadway Musical by William A. Everett (ISBN: 9781442256699)
This historical dictionary contains over 1,000 entries featuring Broadway shows, playwrights, directors, composers, designers, actors, theatres and more. Want to know how many performances Anything Goes ran for in its original run (420) or want to learn more about lyricist Lynn Ahrens? This handy reference has all the facts at your fingertips. The book also features a chronology and an introductory essay.