This is the "Almanacs, Dictionaries, and Directories" page of the "Resource Guide for Gerontology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resource Guide for Gerontology  

Provides an overview of resources at the Dewey Library to assist in getting started with gerontology research.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.albany.edu/gero Print Guide RSS Updates

Almanacs, Dictionaries, and Directories Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Almanacs, Directories and Dictionaries

When you need basic factual information, these resources can be helpful. These reference books provide answers to short, straightforward questions, providing definitions, addresses, web addresses, or simple statistics.

Cover Art
Aging Across the United States - Charles Lockhart; Jean Giles-Sims
ISBN: 9780271037561
Publication Date: 2011-01-21
Provides data about services and resources for the aging across the United States.

Thesaurus of Aging Terminology - Ann Rimkus, et.al. eds.
Call Number: Dewey Reference: HQ 1061 T48X 2005 (also ONLINE click title)
Publication Date: 2005
Originally created as a controlled vocabulary thesaurus for the Ageline databse, this source can generally help identify terms for searching for aging resources. Online version is available by clicking on the title above.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Gerontology - Diana K. Harris
Call Number: Dewey Library / Reference: HQ 1061 H338 1988
ISBN: 0313252874
Publication Date: 1988-07-27
Identifies the specialized terms used in gerontology and provides bibliographic references to help clarify their meanings.

New York State Senior Citizen's Resource Guide - New York State Office For the Aging
Call Number: Dewey Library / Reference: HV 1468 N7 N548X 2007 and (ONLINE click title)
Publication Date: 2007
Directory of resources from a consumer point of view for New York State Senior Citizens.

Cover Art
Older Americans Information Directory, 2008 - Grey House Publishing Staff
Call Number: Dewey Library / Reference: HQ 1061 I535 2009
ISBN: 9781592373574
Publication Date: 2008-03-19
This is a comprehensive guide of not-for-profit associations, government agencies, print materials (books, directories, magazines), websites and resource centers that offer information or assistance to the elderly. The directory is primarily focused on health care and disability resources, but also provides sources for information on topics such as education, awards, legal aid, libraries, and travel.

Directory of Educational Programs in Gerontology and Geriatrics - Association for Gerontology in Higher Education
Call Number: Dewey Reference HQ 1060 N35
Publication Date: 2009
A listing of 750 graduate and undergraduate programs. Both those conferring degrees in gerontology and other programs which offer a specialization or/concentration in gerontology are included.

International Glossary of Social Gerontology - IFA Staff
Call Number: Dewey Library / Reference: HQ 1061 I5348 1985
ISBN: 0442242824
Publication Date: 1985-06-01
Created by the UN Assembly on Aging, this work includes terminology in English, Spanish, French, and German.

Social Welfare Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Elaine Lasda Bergman
Contact Info
Dewey Graduate Library
University at Albany
135 Western Avenue
Albany, NY 12222
(518) 442-3695
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip