LibGuides: Resource Guide for Gerontology: Handbooks

Handbooks

Handbook of Health Psychology and Aging by Carolyn M. Aldwin (Editor); Crystal L. Park (Editor); Avron Spiro (Editor); Ronald P. Abeles (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781593850579
Publication Date: 2007-01-26
Discusses the interplay of physical and mental health and how one's ability to cope with stressors and illness affects the aging process.

Handbooks provide an overview of the major topics and areas of scholastic inquiry in a given subject area. The information is more focused and in depth than what is covered in an encyclopedia. Consult a handbook when: you need to understand a concept covered in class in greater detail or when an encyclopedia does not provide enough of an overview for your topic.

The SAGE Handbook of Social Gerontology by Dale Dannefer (Editor); Chris R. Phillipson (Editor)
Call Number: Dewey Library / HQ 1061 S24 2010
ISBN: 9781412934640
Publication Date: 2010-09-14
This handbook contains five sections:an overview of social gerontology from various key social science disciplines; social relationships and social differences; individual characteristics and change in later life; comparative perspectives and cultural innovations; and policy issues.
Handbook of Psychosocial Interventions with Older Adults by Sherry M. Cummings; Nancy P. Kropf (Editor)
Call Number: Dewey Library / RA 564.8 H37X 2009
ISBN: 9780415481854
Publication Date: 2009-01-26
Evidence-based interventions for social functioning, mental health, and medical issues faced by aging people. Includes references to the supporting research.
Handbook of Gerontology: Evidence-Based Approaches to Theory, Practice, and Policy by Catherine N. Dulmus (Editor); James A. Blackburn (Editor)
Call Number: Dewey Library / Reference: RC 952.55 H395 2007
ISBN: 9780471771708
Publication Date: 2007-04-20
Providing an overview of the current themes in gerontological research today, this handbook consists mainly of a review of pertinent evidence-based literature regarding the aging process, health and psychological issues, and caregiving both by and for the elderly.
Handbook of Families and Aging by Rosemary Blieszner (Editor); Victoria Hilkevitch Bedford (Editor)
Call Number: Dewey Library / HQ 1061 H3353 2012
ISBN: 0313381739
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Essays on a variety of topics related to how aging family members and their issues and problems can affect family dynamics.
Handbook of Clinical Geropsychology by Michel Hersen (Editor); Vincent B. Van Hasselt (Editor)
Call Number: Dewey Library / Reference: RC 451.4 A5 H356 1998
ISBN: 0306456613
Publication Date: 1998-08-31
This is a comprehensive and interdisiciplinary overview of many topics related to death and bereavement. The book includes multicultural perspectives on death, the dying process, and issues related to grief and bereavement. The topic of suicide is covered extensively, and there are sections on the legal aspects of dying.
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences by Robert H. Binstock (Editor); Linda K. George (Editor)
Call Number: Dewey Library Reserves / HQ 1061 H336 2011
ISBN: 9780123808806
Publication Date: 2010-11-16
This is a cross-disciplinary handbook providing an overview of various approaches to the study of aging in the social sciences, including social psychology, human development, and social support, but also from other angles such as economic, demographic and political topics
The Oxford Handbook of Work and Aging by Jerry W. Hedge (Editor); Walter C. Borman (Editor)
Call Number: Dewey Library / HD 6279 O94 2012
ISBN: 9780195385052
Publication Date: 2012-03-16
The aging process and work issues from the perspectives of the worker, organizations, and society at large. Includes demographics and current theoretical and methodological approaches to these issues.

Research Guides

Resource Guide for Gerontology

Subject Guide

Handbooks