Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Brief Guide to Research in Teaching & Learning: Getting Started

Library Information

Library Hours

Library Instruction and Tutorials

This site provides online library tours, research tutorials, and instructions on how to find resources on various topics.

Find Library Resources

Primo - The Library Discovery Service

Use Primo to find books, journal titles, videos, audios, government documents, and other items owned by our libraries.
 

Database Finder

Use databases and indexes to find articles.

Getting Started

When starting to work on a new research topic, it is helpful to gain an overview of the topic first. Subject encyclopedias and handbooks provide background information, theories, key authors, significant events, and issues surrounding this topic. They also provide explanations of terminology and the jargon for the field, introduce you to subtopics, and lead you to other relevant sources through a list of references at the end of each entry. They can help you narrow or expand your topic.

Encyclopedias

The Sage Encyclopedia of Out-of-school Learning   UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LC45.4 .S25 2017 WWW

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Research Methods in Applied Linguistics: Quantitative, Qualitative, and Mixed-methods Research   UAlbany Access Icon

Online / P53.755 .R79 2016

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education  UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LB1139.23 .S245 2016 WWW

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Technology UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LB1028.3 .S235 2015 WWW

Encyclopedia of Science Education 

Science Library / Reference: Q181 .E63 2015

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Second Language Acquisition

University Library / Reference: P 118.2 R67 2013

Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning UAlbany Access Icon

Online / LB1060 E35 2012 WWW

Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies  UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LB2806.15 E48 2010 WWW

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education  UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LC3707 E523 2008 WWW

Critical Thinking and Learning: An Encyclopedia for Parents and Teachers  UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LB1590.3 C735 2004 WWW

Handbooks

Handbook of Research on Building, Growing, and Sustaining Quality e-Learning Programs
LB1044.87 .H3377 2017 WWW
The SAGE Handbook of e-Learning Research
LB1028.5 .S17 2016 WWW
Handbook of Online Learning
LB2395.7 H23 2010
Handbook of Adolescent Literacy Research
LB1632 H363 2009
Handbook of Research on Literacy and Diversity

LB1576 H2337 2009

Learning Theories, A to Z UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LB15 L4695 2002 WWW

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Yu-Hui Chen
Contact:
University Library, LI-304
University at Albany, SUNY
518-442-3586