Africana - African Studies

 The MINERVA Library Catalog HAS RETIRED but you can still select only "UAlbany Libraries" option after entering your search terms in the new search tool. Use either the ADVANCED search button and select UAlbany Libraries or use the magnifying glass within the search box to select search limit.
Selected hard copy book title: Critical Terms for the Study of Africa - Call number University Library / DT 3 C75 2018

Online access to country studies

Country Studies Area handbooks, World Factbook covers data for more than 100 countries prepared by the Library of Congress. Includes a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of the country.
Europa World Yearbook covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories.
A Guide to Countries of the World-
Overviews of countries covering the contemporary social, economic, religious and political issues that shape the country. Also contains vital statistics such as GDP, life expectancy, income distribution, and internet use.
Statesman's Yearbook -
Published annually since 1864. Provides reliable information on every country in the world including coverage of history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure.
World Factbook
This highly recommended resource provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

"Acknowledging and discussing the modern citation of slave cases is a first step. The Citing Slavery Project provides a database of slave cases and the modern cases that continue to cite them as precedent. Explore citations now."

Significant African content on this continually expanding encyclopedic resource.

"In 2019 the International African Institute undertook to update and develop its project initiated in 2015/16 to publish an aggregated list of institutional repositories, containing significant research and publication materials from the African continent. The list viewable on this webpage, organised by country, represents the repositories known to us at this time. Some 48 new repositories have been added to the original list." (SOAS, London)

"Africa Is a Country is a site of opinion, analysis, and new writing on and from the African left. It was founded by Sean Jacobs in 2009."