Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Area handbooks for more than 100 countries prepared by the Library of Congress. Includes a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of the country.
Online version of the Europa World Yearbook, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories.
A Guide to Countries of the World
Overviews of countries covering the contemporary social, economic, religious and political issues that shape the country. Also contains vital statistics such as GDP, life expectancy, income distribution, and internet use.
Published annually since 1864. Provides reliable information on every country in the world including coverage of history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure.
This highly recommended resource provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Culture Crossing Guide
This site is a "community built resource for cross-cultural etiquette and understanding". It includes cultural information on the countries of the world, including greetings, communication style, eye contact, taboos, etc. Particularly helpful for students is information on class rules and socializing.
From the Canadian Centre for Intercultural Learning, this site contains answers to intercultural questions from a Canadian and a local point of view under the "culture" tab.
Country Guides and Profiles
This site, from the UK-based language services company Kwintessential, offers country guides that cover etiquette, culture, customs and business.