LibGuides: RPAD 302: Understanding Public Organizations: Research

Scholarly Journals

HeinOnline
Find articles from law and law-related journals, as well as information on famous trials, legal classics, treaties, and more.
Nexis Uni
Find news from U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs, as well as business profiles, patents, legal research, biography, medicine, and reference. A Source List is available for viewing.
PAIS Index
Find references to books, journal articles, government documents, and privately published research reports on almost any topic that has a public affairs dimension.
Public Administration Abstracts
Find bibliographic records for the English language journals in the field of public administration. Full text for some articles.
Social Services Abstracts
Find bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Sociological Abstracts
Find abstracting and indexing of sociology, covering journal articles, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers.
Westlaw Campus Research
Find full-text law, news, and business sources from the U.S. and countries around the world.

Guidestar Non-Profit Reports
The national database of U.S. charitable organizations gathers and distributes data on more than 850,000 IRS-recognized nonprofits.

Exempt Organizations Business Master File Extract
The IRS Exempt Organization Business Master File Extract (EO BMF) includes cumulative information on exempt organizations. The data are extracted monthly and are available by state and region. The files are in comma separated value (CSV) format and can be opened by most computer applications including Excel.
Tax Exempt Organization Search
Find information about an organization's tax-exempt status and filings. You can use the online search tool or download specific data sets.
Charity Navigator
Founded in 2001, Charity Navigator has become the nation's largest and most-utilized evaluator of charities. In our quest to help donors, our team of professional analysts has examined tens of thousands of non-profit financial documents. We've used this knowledge to develop an unbiased, objective, numbers-based rating system to assess over 8,000 of America's best-known and some lesser known, but worthy, charities.
Charitiesnys.com
Charities Bureau, New York State Office of the Attorney General

The Atlantic
Web version of The Atlantic. Content may be limited without a subscription. Some coverage may be provided by other databases.
Chronicle of Philanthropy
UAlbany's subscription access to Chronicle of Philanthropy
Chronicle of Philanthropy
Web version of Chronicle of Philanthropy. Some content is not available without a subscription.
Inside Philanthropy
New York Times
The web version of NYT. Content is limited without a subscription. Some coverage may be provided by other newspaper databases.
NPR
Stanford Social Innovation Review
Access provided by UAlbany Libraries.
Stanford Social Innovation Review
Web version of Stanford Social Innovation Review

Stats America
A service of the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business & supported by the Economic Development Administration, Stats America provides tools using the latest state and federal data.
more...less...
"Build a Neighborhood Profile" allows the user to create reports down to the census tract. "Measuring Distress" allows the user to generate a Distress Criteria Statistical Report for one or more counties.

PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a fully web-based Geographic Information System (GIS) and mapping product. Data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates. A complete list of GIS data available can be found in their data directory.
Social Explorer
SocialExplorer is award winning demographic data visualization and research website designed to engage users through dynamic maps and customizable reports.
Statista
Access statistical data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government, categorized into 21 market sectors.