Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Law: Online Sources

This guide references Internet sources of information. A few subscription databases are included but most are freely accessible on the Internet.

Federal/State Statutes

Constitution of the United States
FedLaw

Index of federal laws, rules and regulations, state laws, arbitration and mediation, and more from the GSA.

Full-text state statutes and legislation on the Internet
Meta-Index for U.S. Legal Research

From Georgia State University.

Congress.gov

Official site of the US Congress. Excellent source for federal legislative history as well as the text of laws accessible by Public Law number.

Uniform Law Commissioners-National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Law

Full text of uniform state acts accessible by title or state. Includes the status of each act for every state.

United States Code

Provided by the Office of the Law Revision Commission of the US House of Representatives, this version is easy to browse and search.

United States Code

Searchable database that also includes browsing by titles, table of popular names, specific section or keywords, from the Legal Information Institute of Cornell Law School.

United States Code (GPO Access)

Searchable database including the 2000 edition with supplements thru 2005. Also the 1994-2000 editions

United States Legislative Resources

Includes links to searchable databases of bills, legislative history, and congressional committee materials.