Skip to Main Content

CIST Student Sandbox

IST 605: Food Studies and Social Justice LibGuide

A resource designed to help students explore the connections between food systems, culture, and social equity.

Introduction

Welcome to the Food Studies and Social Justice LibGuide. This guide is designed to explore how food intersects important social issues like race, culture, history, and inequity, by examining how cultural values, economic conditions, and political power have shaped food practices. The resources in this guide include academic journals, books, and multimedia content, all curated to support UAlbany students and researchers in fields like history, public policy, environmental studies, and more. Use this guide to deepen your understanding of how food has influenced society, from its role in colonialism to modern-day challenges like food insecurity and sustainability. Through this guide, students and researchers can examine topics such as food justice, cultural resilience, and sustainable food systems, assisting information seekers, in multiple fields of study, in their understanding of how food impacts health, education, and the environment.

How to use this LibGuide

The LibGuide offers users a curated collection of resources that introduce the intersectional subject of food studies and social justice, exploring its historical roots. It also includes suggested general and specific databases, along with keyword recommendations and search tips, to support all information seekers in their research. I hope you find this resources value in your research.

General and Topic Specific Databases

UAlbany Primo Database: Primo is the University at Albany Libraries' search tool serves as a one-stop platform for discovering materials from UAlbany’s library catalog, providing access to a wide range of resources, including books, articles, journals, multimedia, and digital collections. . Primo is ideal for conducting comprehensive research across disciplines.

 

EBSCOhost is a leading provider of research databases, e-journals, e-books, and discovery services for libraries and institutions worldwide. EBSCOhosts offers access to a vast array of scholarly resources across various disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, health sciences, and more.
JSTOR is a digital library is an essential resource for conducting academic research and accessing high-quality, authoritative sources, as it provides access to a large collection of scholarly articles, academic books, and primary source materials, which is widely used by students, faculty, and researchers to explore peer-reviewed content across disciplines such as history, literature, science, and social sciences. 

Specific Databases:

 

 

AGRICOLA: A comprehensive catalog for agricultural literature, including food systems, nutrition, and environmental sciences.

America: History and Life: America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to research on the history of the United States allowing users to explore historical aspects of food and culinary practices.

Project MUSE: Full-text access to humanities and social sciences research, including food studies and gastronomy.