Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Food for Thought: Scholarly Articles

Resources for Research on Food & Culture

Dig in to a Feast of Resources

 Looking for in-depth research studies on food-related topics (such as sustainability, food security or public health)? Scholarly articles are authoritative resources written by experts in a particular field. Use the databases to find articles from peer-reviewed journals.

Tips for Searching the Databases

Databases are used to find articles, documents, chapters and other specific information on a topic.  

General databases such as Academic Search Complete will help you find articles on a wide range of topics across subject areas. Subject specific databases will help you find articles within a particular field of study.

Learn More:

What is a Scholarly Resource?

Recommended Library Databases

Food is a topic that spans across many disciplines. Begin your research with a multidisciplinary database such as Academic Search Complete, or if you are interested in exploring your topic through a particular disciplinary lens, try a subject specific database. For example, an Environment database would be appropriate for the topic of sustainability and food waste, while a Social Welfare database would be helpful if you are researching poverty and food deserts.

Suggested Subject Terms

Select Browse By --> Subject in the Libraries' Search tool and try the following subject terms:

  • food
  • food habits
  • food writers 
  • public health
  • agriculture
  • food supply
  • food security
  • feeding behavior
  • food intake
  • food -- History
  • gastronomy

 

Image Sourcesinvestigate by Made from the Noun Project. All other images are in the Public Domain.