Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Selected Library Resources for Education - General: Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Library Information

Library Hours

Library Instruction and Tutorials

This site provides online library tours, research tutorials, and instructions on how to find resources on various topics.

Find Library Resources

Primo - The Library Discovery Service

Use Primo to find books, journal titles, videos, audios, government documents, and other items owned by our libraries.
 

Database Finder

Use databases and indexes to find articles.

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

When starting to work on a new research topic, it is helpful to gain an overview of the topic first. Subject encyclopedias and handbooks provide background information, theories, key authors, significant events, and issues surrounding this topic. They also provide explanations of terminology and the jargon for the field, introduce you to subtopics, and lead you to other relevant sources through a list of references at the end of each entry. They can help you narrow or expand your topic.

Encyclopedias

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation  UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LB1028 .S16 2018 WWW

Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy  UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LB17 .E52 2014 WWW

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education  UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LB1139.23 .S245 2016 WWW

Sociology of Education: An A-to-Z Guide UAlbany Access Icon

Online / LC 191 S6617 2013 WWW

Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education  UAlbany Access Icon

Online / LC 1099 E53 2012 WWW

International Education: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues and Systems

University Library REF LB 15 I565 2012

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education  UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LB 17 E53 2009 WWW

Gender and Education: An Encyclopedia [Two Volumes]  UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LC 213 G425 2007 WWW

Handbooks

The SAGE Sourcebook of Service-Learning and Civic Engagement  UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LC220.5 .S23 2015 WWW
University Library / Oversized *: LC220.5 .S23 2015

The SAGE Handbook for Research in Education: Engaging Ideas and Enriching Inquiry  UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LB 1028 S14 2009 WWW

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook  UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LA 210 A15 2008 WWW

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Yu-Hui Chen
Contact:
University Library, LI-304
University at Albany, SUNY
518-442-3586