IST 605: Early Childhood Emotional Development Resources

ERIC a comprehensive resource from the U.S. Department of Education that provides education-related research. It includes journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, and more. ERIC can be a valuable tool when researching education-related information. You can find resources on childhood emotional development using the search tools on the introduction page of this LibGuide.

This article focuses on how social-emotional development in early childhood can influence academic achievement in school. The research highlights the importance of emotions in childhood in addition to other contributing factors as predictors of academic success. The authors also address targeted intervention in childhood to improve academic success. This article is heavy on data and research, sticking to the main points and discussion of the article will help parents to understand the importance of emotional development in childhood.

The authors focused their research on how parents have effect over their child’s emotional understanding through their own upbringing and education. They link the emotional understanding of the child with the parents “intuitive theories.” The research was completed with preschool children and their parents. The article gives a good data set on what roles parents’ history plays in the emotional understanding of their children.

This journal article from the Journal of Applied Sciences focuses on a study into the importance of emotional communication in parenting and showcases a new parent intervention that teaches emotional communication skills called “Let’s Connect”. A review of the study conducted shares the positive results within communities. This article is a more in-depth read as it contains tables and statistics on the study. The authors also state that the sample size of the study was small, so that could have an impact on the overall results of the study. Learning about new interventions could help with understanding the importance of improving emotional communication in childhood.

This web article focuses on using play to help manage children’s emotions. It provides four practical play activities that are fun and also provide tools to help children manage their emotions in the moment. The article provides “try this” step by step directions on how to help your child understand and manage their feelings. The play activities in this article are a fun way to engage in building emotional skills.

This web article is an interview of the co-author of the book Tiny Humans, Big Emotions: How to Navigate Tantrums, Meltdowns, and Defiance to Raise Emotionally Intelligent Children. They discuss key to raising emotionally intelligent humans. This web-article is a great segue to the full book referenced in the Resources for Parents and Caregivers section of this LibGuide.

This web article shares three parenting strategies to help children feel safe when navigating their feelings when they feel too much. The author provides helpful information on these strategies and encouragement to better connect with a child regarding health mental and emotional development.

This web article focuses on the importance of a parents role on shaping their child's emotion regulations skills. There are three strategies provided to parents to provide and foster healthy skill building and healthy development in emotional regulation. This article also provides further references to access information on further studies for the strategies given.

This website is a parenting website created by the American Academy of Pediatrics. You will find many resources on emotional development for children in all stages of life. The information on this website is written in every day language for better understanding and is a great tool for parents and caregivers. The is a webpage devoted to emotional wellness with numerous featured articles.

This website offers great resources on emotional development and skills in childhood. Parents and caregivers are informed of tools that can be used to encourage emotional development. The information is laid out in an easy-to-read format and highlights the importance of teaching young children to identify, understand, and respond to emotions. Resources and links to more information on children’s emotional literacy and intervention are available at the bottom of the page if you are looking for more resources.

This six page pamphlet from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) is for parents and caregivers of infants, toddlers and preschoolers. It provides examples of important aspects of social and emotional development for young children. The pamphlet is intended to help parents and families support their children’s social and emotional development. Topics include social interaction, emotional awareness and self-regulation.

This website provides articles on the social and emotional development in children for parents and caregivers. The resources explore the ways children learn to express, recognize, and manage their own emotions, as well as respond appropriately to others' emotions. The website is easy to filter for content with a "filter by" menu on the left side of the screen. There is a wealth of reputable knowledge from Head Start.

The Sesame Workshop website provides many family resources on social emotional skills. It includes videos for parents and children, information on subtopics, including calming strategies, children's feelings, tantrums and more! You can also explore more resources on empathy and bullying. Many of these materials are also provided in Spanish.