Librarian in Training
Sally Sosler
Graduate Student - UAlbany
Children's Room Library Assistant - Middletown Thrall Library - Member Library of the Ramapo Catskill Library System
Navigate Resources for Children
In this section, you will find books, videos, and games for your child to help with emotional skills and development.
The picture books about emotions have been broken down into tabbed categories in the first box below: Emotions (General), Happy, Sad, Fear and Anger
Each selected book has a suggested reading age. Click on the book link to head to the library catalog for more information or to place a hold on the book.
Further below on this page, you will find some fun videos and games with lively and entertaining characters that you and your child can enjoy together!
Picture Books about Emotions
-
The Color Monster
by
Call Number: JP LleISBN: 9780316450010Publication Date: 2018-09-04As this adorable monster learns to sort and define his mixed-up emotions, he gains self-awareness and peace as a result. This book focuses on socio-emotional growth and color concepts for young readers. It is a wonderful way to start conversations about feelings in addition to color concepts. Reading age: 2-5 years -
How Do You Feel?
by
Call Number: JP RocISBN: 9780823440511Publication Date: 2019-09-24This simple book helps children and parents talk about feelings. Young readers will be exposed to a wide range of emotions in this book. With a focus of identifying feelings, children will see themselves in the illustrations that show specific incidents, body language, and facial expressions. This book will create dialogue around feelings and emotions in a variety of settings. Reading age: 3-6 years -
I Feel!
by
Call Number: JP MedISBN: 9780358621249Publication Date: 2022-10-11This board book helps children to identify how they feel with illustrations and simple text. It will help young readers and the parents/caregivers in their lives to talk about their feelings and emotions together. Reading age: Baby - 4 years -
You Have Feelings All the Time
by
Call Number: JP KRIISBN: 9781631985096Publication Date: 2022-03-15A great book to build emotional vocabulary within children. There is a focus on the idea that emotions are a healthy, normal part of life. It helps preschoolers develop emotional literacy by naming and normalizing emotions. Strong emotions can scare or overwhelm kids, and helping them see that everyone feels mad, sad, or scared sometimes can comfort them and build their perspective-taking skills and their emotional vocabulary. Reading age: 2-6 years -
My Mixed Emotions
by
Call Number: J 155.4 GreISBN: 9781465473325Publication Date: 2018-10-02This book includes helpful hints, tips, and techniques for helping children learn to recognize and express their emotions. The book is divided into emotions - happiness, fear, anger, and sadness. Children will discover great things about themselves, such as what happens in their brain when they are happy, why they cry when they are sad, and why they sometimes feel nervous. Reading age: 5-10 years
-
Dealing with Feeling Happy
by
Call Number: J 152.4 ThoISBN: 9781432971052Publication Date: 2013-01-01This book is part of a series and looks at happiness. Topics covered within the book include what happiness feels like, how to turn sad feelings into happy ones, and how to make other people feel happy. This book provides a glossary and toolbox to further discussion on the feeling of happy. Reading age: 5-6 years -
Feeling Happy
by
Call Number: J 152.4 LakISBN: 9781978533431Publication Date: 2023-07-30Using the yellow smiley face emoji, this book shares narrative stories to explore the emotion of happiness. The book focuses on identifying and talking about emotions with your young reader. Reading age: 5-8 years -
Happy
by
Call Number: J 152.47 CHAISBN: 9798886870237Publication Date: 2024-08-01Using visual and narrative structure, this book will help young readers identify what happy looks and feels like. The book has a reflective aspect, helping children to think about what makes them feel happy. Reading age: 5-8 years -
Happy
by
Call Number: J 152.4 ColISBN: 9781683421436Publication Date: 2017-01-01Follow along as the main character finds out different things that make her happy. Providing everyday scenarios in what can make a person happy will help to give children the tools to understand the emotion of happy. Reading age: 4-6 years -
This Makes Me Happy
by
Call Number: JE CarISBN: 9781635650570Publication Date: 2018-04-24Using storytelling of a day going to the fair, this book helps children to give names to their emotions in everyday life experiences. Naming emotions is important to emotional development in children. Reading age: 4-6 years
-
The Blue Book
by
Call Number: J 155.41 ANTISBN: 9781647475789Publication Date: 2021-08-01This book relates emotions to colors on a rainbow, focusing on the feeling of sad and the color blue. Included in the book are simple activities, tips and tricks for when you are feeling sad. Reading age: 4-8 years -
Princess Stella Gets Sad
by
Call Number: JP MarISBN: 9781404881099Publication Date: 2013-02-01Even princesses can feel sad. Explore the emotion of sadness in this book. This book introduces vocabulary so that when your child is feeling sad, they can express that to you. This book is a part of a series of books about different emotions. Reading age: 2-6 years -
Sad
by
Call Number: J 152.4 ColISBN: 9781683421429Publication Date: 2017-01-01While listening to the story, your child will find out why the main character is sad and how he deals with his feelings. This book focuses on making predictions and retelling using vocabulary about feeling sad. Reading age: 4-6 years -
This Makes Me Sad
by
Call Number: JE CarISBN: 9781635650402Publication Date: 2018-04-24This book is a part of a series of books on feelings. Focusing on the emotion of sadness, the main character learns to accept and process his feelings. While the focus is on the loss of a pet, the story does resolve itself in the end. Reading age: 4-6 years -
Sad
by
Call Number: J 152.47 CHAISBN: 9798886870251Publication Date: 2024-08-01Beginning readers will explore the emotion of sadness. This book talks about why we become sad and what sadness can feel and look like. Included is a photo glossary that will help to define unfamiliar words and a reflection question at the end. Reading age: 5-8 years
-
All about Worries and Fears
by
Call Number: J 152.46 BrooksISBN: 9781805079040Publication Date: 2024-11-05This book helps children understand why we have different fears and worries and the physical effects they can have on our bodies. It includes fun and helpful activities and strategies to help manage and even overcome them. Reading age: 3-5 years -
Me and My Fear
by
Call Number: JP SanISBN: 9781911171539Publication Date: 2018-09-11Told through narration, the main character in this story struggles with fear. This book will give way to opening up conversations about fear and the concept that everyone feels fear about different things. Reading age: 4-7 years -
Scared
by
Call Number: J 152.47 CHAISBN: 9798886870275Publication Date: 2024-08-01Beginning readers will explore the emotion of fear/scared. This book talks about why we become scared and what fear can feel and look like. Included is a photo glossary that will help to define unfamiliar words and a reflection question at the end. Reading age: 5-8 -
Starfish Feels Scared
by
Call Number: JP WooISBN: 9781728446035Publication Date: 2022-08-01This relatable story helps kids identify their feelings and provides useful tools for managing emotions including fear. This will help open dialogue about fear. Reading age: 3-5 years -
Soar
by
Call Number: E DaecherISBN: 9780764359873Publication Date: 2020-08-28This is a beautifully illustrated picture book with a heartfelt message about overcoming fear. This book showcases emotions, both positive and negative around the fear of new challenges. Reading age: 5-8 years
-
Dealing with Feeling Angry
by
Call Number: J 152.4 ThoISBN: 9781432971038Publication Date: 2013-01-01This book looks at the emotion of anger. It talks about what anger feels like, safe ways to let anger out, and how to calm down if you are feeling angry. This book is part of a series about emotions. Reading age: 6-7 years -
A Feel Better Book for Little Tempers
by
Call Number: JP BroISBN: 9781433828171Publication Date: 2018-03-19This book assures kids that anger is normal--everyone gets angry sometimes, even adults! It helps kids to identify anger and provides them with helpful tools to manage and move past it. Included is a Note to Parents and Caregivers with more information on how you can help your little one manage their tempers. Reading age: 3-7 years -
Feeling Angry!
by
Call Number: J 155.4 DouISBN: 9781631982514Publication Date: 2017-09-18This book includes strategies on how to calm down when you are feeling angry. Through the use of humor and compassion, it shows children how to help others--and themselves--feel better when dealing with challenging emotions. The book includes a special section for adults that presents ideas for helping children deal with feelings in healthy ways, as well as a list of recommended books for further reading. Reading age: 5-7 years -
The Red Book
by
Call Number: J 152.47 AntISBN: 9781647475857Publication Date: 2021-08-01This book relates emotions to colors on a rainbow, focusing on the feeling of anger and the color red. Included in the book are simple activities, tips and tricks for when you are feeling angry. Reading age: 4-8 years -
Roaring Mad Riley
by
Call Number: JP SCZISBN: 9781638788362Publication Date: 2021-09-21Roaring Mad Riley is a story about anger management for kids that is both a picture book and an activity book. The book provides tools on how to keep calm and activities to help you stay calm. Reading age: 5-7 years
Other Resources for Children
Below you will find videos from Sesame Workshop and PBS Kids.
Video 1 - Feelings Have Names - Sesame Workshop - This video, created by Sesame Workshop, includes recognizable characters from the Sesame Street gang who need help naming emotions. The video illustrates how to name emotions for children. The video is interactive as the characters ask the “audience” watching what emotions are being displayed. This is a great learning tool for both children and parents.
Video 2 - PBS Kids: Feelings and Emotions - This video, created by PBS Kids, where kids and their parents talk to each other in an interview-like setting about situations where feeling and emotions were present. They talk about real experiences, which is relatable.The video highlights conversations around emotions and feelings and helps kids to see that adults and kids experience emotions. During the conversations, tips and tools are also shared.
-
Feeling Faces - Sesame Street Workshop
Explore dozens of different emotions with your Sesame Street friends Elmo, Oscar, and Abby! Kids look at pictures of people in photos and name how they’re feeling. This game opens dialogue about why each person might have been feeling that way. By using clues in the pictures, you can talk to your child about emotions. -
Guess the Feeling - Daniel Tiger's Neighborhood
Recognizing and naming feelings is the very first step in helping children manage their feelings. This game gives children a chance to play about what different feelings look like. And it can give you the chance to talk with your child about all kinds of different feelings.