Databases of citations are a critical search tool for your systematic review, They can be searched at the beginning of the systematic review process while refining a search strategy, as well as for the main part of the search with a final search strategy.
While searching, it is important to make a note of each database that you use, what years it covers, and what search strategy you are using. In the initial phase of refining a search strategy, you should also keep track of what words, topics and keywords you are trying, as well as which ones are useful (or not useful!). Be sure to document everything!
University at Albany provides access to extensive list of databases. A complete listing of these resources can be found on the library web page, under the Tools tab, then by clicking Database Finder. Below are some selected databases broken into several subject areas.
Find citations, with links to full text when available, from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) from the U.S. National Library of Medicine controlled vocabulary. Available on the ProQuest platform.
Tip: On this platform, you may filter your search results to Peer-Reviewed articles. Other filters include language, population, and gender.
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Find bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Interdisciplinary subject searching of scholarly articles in the social sciences, physical & life sciences, and arts & humanities. Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books.
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access and make their research available for free on the open Web.
Find doctoral dissertations and master's theses from universities and institutions all around the world.
