Spanish Language & Linguistics Research Guide

"A corpus of historical and modern Spanish texts from the 13th to 20th centuries. The corpus can be searched with a range of queries, involving grammatical category, lemma, and frequency in different historical periods." Includes more than one hundred millions words. Created by Prof. Mark Davis of Brigham Young University. Funded by the NEH.

The Diachronic Corpus of Spanish is a data bank that provides a structured set of texts for lexicographic and grammatical research dating from the beginning of the Spanish language until 1974. It includes almost 300 million lexical forms. It is divided into two main groups: fiction and non-fiction texts. Created by Real Academia Española.

It includes 45 billion words from the 15th C. onward.

" Lemmatized and morphologically tagged linguistic corpus of about 35,000,000 words, based on more than 400 semi-palaeographic transcriptions of medieval texts written in Spanish, Asturian, Leonese, Navarro-Aragonese and Aragonese "

"AnCora es un corpus del catalán (AnCora-CA) y del español (AnCora-ES). El corpus de cada lengua contiene 500.000 palabras y están constituidos fundamentalmente por textos periodísticos."

Created by Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain. User registration is required in order to access the data.

"aims at documenting and disseminating Spanish varieties spoken in Arizona...This digital oral corpus provides material for multiple linguistic analyses of local bilingual Spanish and subsequent comparisons with other varieties."

"El corpus está compuesto por 108 vídeos (36 para cada acto de habla) de una duración total de 108 minutos y sus correspondientes transcripciones, con un total de 18737 palabras transcritas en total."

"Documents the Spanish and English spoken in south Texas, specifically in the Rio Grande Valley. his digital oral corpus provides material for multiple linguistic analyses of local language varieties and subsequent comparisons with other varieties."

"Un Contexto Definitorio es un fragmento textual en donde se encuentran una definición y, por lo tanto, un término; fundamentalmente debe contar con un término, un patrón verbal definitorio y una definición."

"Está constituido por una amplia colección de documentos sobre el área de sexualidad, que van desde artículos especializados hasta obras literarias."

"A corpus of historical and modern Spanish texts from the 13th to 20th centuries. The corpus can be searched with a range of queries, involving grammatical category, lemma, and frequency in different historical periods." Includes more than one hundred millions words. Created by Prof. Mark Davis of Brigham Young University. Funded by the NEH.

"Aims at documenting and disseminating Spanish varieties spoken in Arizona. This digital oral corpus provides material for multiple linguistic analyses of local bilingual Spanish and subsequent comparisons with other varieties."

Includes over 150 million lexical forms. Coverage: 1975 to the present. Created by Real Academia Española.

"The Corpus of Mexican Spanish in Salinas, California was created to allow researchers to study the Spanish spoken in and near Salinas, California. The corpus also provides the means for researchers to study the effects on Spanish when it comes in contact with English in the United States."

This corpus includes more than one million words from oral texts and their audio files. Available for downloading. Created by the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid.

"El Corpus Oral y Sonoro del Español Rural está formado por grabaciones de la lengua hablada en enclaves rurales de la Península Ibérica. Las entrevistas se obtuvieron con el propósito de ofrecer una muestra representativa de la variedad dialectal, pero también permiten conocer los modos de vida en el campo en la época previa a la mecanización agraria y a la despoblación rural."

This is a collection of eight corpora (almost 100 million words) with approximately 700 documents of contemporary Spanish, developed by the members of the Escuela Lingüística de Valparaíso at the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso, Chile.

It contains 60 hours of semi-directed interviews and 20 hours of conversations with Galician speakers during the period 2007-2015. Created by the "Grupo de Gramática del Español" of the Universidad de Santiago de Compostela.

"EsPal is designed to be a source of information containing all the possible properties of Spanish words... EsPal is primarily designed for psycholinguists looking for words with certain properties for their experiments. [It includes] two corpora: 1) A large collection of written data from the Web, government sources, newspapers, and literature. 2) Subtitles kindly provided by opensubtitles.org."

"PRESEEA is the "Project for the Sociolinguistic Study of Spanish from Spain and America". The goal is to coordinate sociolinguistic researchers from Spain and the Hispanic America in order to make possible comparisons between different studies and materials, as well as a basic information exchange. The main aim is to create a spoken language Corpus with sufficient guarantees and rich in terms of linguistic information."

"The goal of the Spanish in Texas project is to develop a corpus of Spanish and bilingual Spanish-English speech samples culled from interviews and conversations among speakers of diverse personal profiles and regional origins throughout Texas." Free registration required.

"The overall goal of the Spanish Learner Language Oral Corpora (SPLLOC) programme is to promote research on the acquisition of Spanish"

"The audio recordings in this collection are sociolinguistic interviews and conversations collected by USC professor emeritus Carmen Silva-Corvalán. They cover ca. 348 hours of audio interviews collected from 1976 to 1992...They provide an authentic resource serving multiple research communities engaged in projects related to language education, linguistic research, bilingualism research, and technology development, specifically of Spanish spoken in Spain, Chile and Los Angeles."

"online repository of oral and written production of heritage and L2 speakers of Spanish and Portuguese in New England, with a special focus on communities from Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut"