Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Public Health: Databases

Lists of Databases & Indexes

Medline.  MEDLINE provides authoritative medical journal articles on a broad medical focus, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH indexing to search abstracts from over 4,000 current medical & biomedical journals.  This database includes some full-text and is available on the free PubMed site sponsored by the National Library of Medicine. MEDLINE is also available through EBSCO.

Google Scholar is a scholarly, multidisciplinary database for access to articles, papers, books, theses, etc. in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. (In order to link to materials owned by the University at Albany Libraries, you must set preferences. On the Google Scholar home page, select Scholar Preferences. Under Library Links, check University at Albany and Open Worldcat.)

CINAHL Plus with Full Text. A comprehensive index to literature on health, biomedicine, nursing and allied health fields. Articles from 3100 journals as well as books, videos, papers, etc. are indexed.

Need more articles? Public health journal articles can also be found in a number of related subject areas, such as psychology, social welfare, statistics, public affairs and statistics. To find other databases that may have the articles you need, try these additional databases in public health.

Subject Guide