IST 605: Typography

• Internet Archive’s Wayback Machine is an interesting way to look at webpages as they appear throughout the years. From a typographical perspective, this is a useful way to explore web design and changes made to text to alter user experience. For example, if a student were top write a paper on successful web design, focusing on typographical elements, they would be able to view changes to a website (if it has been archived) over time. This could be an interesting interactive experience for case studies and seeing examples of typography online. 

• Type Lab is a resource created by Hannah Boom, a graphic designer. This labor of love features attractive and understandable sections about typography for web design. The guides are divided into sections, each with visual examples of fonts and graphic elements to help explain the nuance and purpose of typography. Though this resource is intended for digital applications of typography, much of the content can be applied to print as well. 

• Typography Games are an excellent way to get comfortable with the practice. Graphic designer Holly, owner of Maker & Moxie, put together a helpful guide of several options. These games are particularly useful for individuals interested in pursuing typography as a part of their creative or business plans. 

The below resources are those which contain information that would be of interest to someone exploring typography, but are not necessarily dedicated solely to typography. 

• Library Of Congress (LOC) Thesaurus for Graphic Materials: This resource is an excellent tool to assist with research related to typography and graphic elements. Visual materials are indexed by subject and genre/format. Users can explore imagery and graphic design elements which would be helpful in finding visual examples of typography. The resource includes more than 7000 subject terms. 

• Encyclopedia of Symbols: This online resource explains the meaning behind a large collection of symbols. This resource is related to typography because symbols are characters which can be repeated and reproduced. Use this source to learn about your favorite symbols, get inspiration for your own designs, or browse for fun. The encyclopedia is organized into categories to enhance user experience. 

• Image and Font Databases: The University of Wisconsin-Madison has collected select databases for images and fonts based on their user-friendliness. The databases listed on this webpage are an easy way to explore types of fonts and various imagery to enhance one's understanding of typography and graphic design in general.