IST 605: History of Saratoga Springs, New York

All-inclusive guide to the history of the Spa's and their healing benefits. Includes geological information on the mineral waters. Lists numerous locations of springs in the area. Includes information related to the development of Saratoga Springs State Park. Author Grace Swanner is known as the guru for all things spas and springs.

Fun read and really cool that the potato chip was invented here..by accident! Growing up in the 1830s in Saratoga Springs, New York, isn't easy for George Crum. Picked on at school because of the colour of his skin, George escapes into his favourite pastimes - hunting and fishing. Soon George learns to cook too and as a young man he lands a job as chef at the fancy Moon's Lake House. George loves his work, except for the fussy customers! One day his patience boils over and he cooks up a potato dish so unique it changes his life forever... He invented the potato chip!

Informative book detailing the history and growth of a small town in the region. Epilogue on page 231 helps readers visualize the changes from 2017 to 150 years ago. This book follows the growth of the shire town of Saratoga County from its first settlement on the eve of the Revolutionary War to the conclusion of another, more deadly conflict, the War for the Union. It is a story of pioneers, farmers, entrepreneurs, politicians, people of color, industrialists, mill workers, teachers, soldiers, and their families as they followed their own path to becoming Americans.

Colorful cover captivating local history. Join Carol Stone Godette, a native of Saratoga Springs, on a captivating journey through the city's evolving landscape as she shares her observations on the significant transformations it has experienced during her lifetime. In her narrative this compelling account is further enriched by the inclusion of historical photographs from the Saratoga Springs History Museum's George S. Bolster Collection. Savor every word of On This Spot - it is a journey through the remarkable evolution of Saratoga Springs, offering wisdom and insights for those who seek to know more.

A comprehensive book detailing the first Americans, battles and museums in Saratoga, as well as various stories people should know. Includes drawings and photographs throughout the text. People from all walks of life came to Saratoga Springs to enjoy horse racing, gambling and other popular vices. But when the springs dried up and gambling was outlawed, the town's future was in peril. Timothy Holmes presents the history of Saratoga and examines how the town managed to avoid the slow death that threatened to overtake it.

A play-by-play book that narrates the revolution in Saratoga from start to finish. If you are looking for a thorough historical account, this book is for you. In the late summer and fall of 1777, after two years of indecisive fighting on both sides, the outcome of the American War of Independence hung in the balance. When British forces captured Fort Ticonderoga with unexpected ease in July of 1777, it looked as if it was a matter of time before they would break the rebellion in the North. Less than three and a half months later, however, a combination of the Continental Army and Militia forces, commanded by Major General Horatio Gates and inspired by the heroics of Benedict Arnold, forced Burgoyne to surrender his entire army. The American victory stunned the world and changed the course of the war. Kevin J. Weddle offers the most authoritative history of the Battle of Saratoga to date, explaining with verve and clarity why events unfolded the way they did. Weddle unravels the web of contingencies and the play of personalities that ultimately led to what one American general called "the Compleat Victory."

Beautiful paintings and numerous visuals make this a book to explore. The Battles of Saratoga are cited as the turning point in the Revolutionary War. Master historical painter Don Troiani and historian Eric Schnitzer combine their talents in this new book on Saratoga, the Revolutionary War campaign. This magnificently illustrated history features many new artworks, previously unpublished eyewitness accounts, photographs of important artifacts, and a solid, detailed historical narrative including background on the campaigns leading up to Saratoga.

Battles occurred outside of Saratoga in the surrounding areas. This book gives the reader insight to what was happening in the region. Much of New York during the Revolutionary era was frontier wilderness, sparsely populated and bitterly divided. Although the only major campaign in the region would end at the Battle of Saratoga, factional raiding parties traversed the mountains and valleys of the Adirondacks throughout the war. In this volume, historian Marie Danielle Annette Williams chronicles these and other stories of the Revolutionary War in the Adirondacks. Also available as an electronic book.

This scholarly text features research-based information on the battles of Saratoga. The Saratoga Campaign provides a new and greatly expanded understanding of the battles of Saratoga by drawing on the work of scholars in a broad range of academic disciplines. Presenting years of research by material culture scholars, archaeologists, historians, museum curators, military experts, and geophysicists, this definitive volume explores these important Revolutionary War battles and their aftermath, adding a physical and tangible dimension to the story of the Saratoga campaign. Presenting the latest hands-on research, The Saratoga Campaign is an original and multifaceted contribution to our understanding of this critical event in America's birth.

This book features soldier accounts from various wars beginning with the French and Indian War to the War on Terror. Most soldiers were residents of Saratoga County. Remaining soldiers called home in bordering Warren and Washington County's. Hundreds of soldiers hailing from the region have served in all of the United States military's most crucial engagements. Hear about the aide to General George Washington, the man and his three sons who fought to preserve the nation during the Civil War, the soldiers who survived Pearl Harbor to battle Nazis at Normandy and Japanese at Iwo Jima and the modern-day heroes protecting America from foreign insurgents. From heroism abroad to heartache at home, author Paul Post commemorates the extraordinary courage that was born and bred in Saratoga County.

Fun facts and colorful photographs of horse racing history. Includes an appendix of Hall of Fame and other champion horses that broke their maidens at Saratoga. Since the inaugural meeting of August 1863, Saratoga Springs is home to one of the oldest sports venues in the country and has been the scene of memorable races, often featuring legends of the sport. Although some of the epic moments are still familiar today, such as Upset's defeat of Man o' War in the 1919 Sanford Memorial, many of the triumphs and defeats that were once famous have been forgotten. Authors Allan Carter and Mike Kane take a look back at these and other important but neglected stories and present statistics from the pre-NYRA years and a rundown of the greatest fields assembled at America's oldest track.

Everything one wants to know about betting from basic to advanced. This easy-to-understand guide shows first-time visitors to the track how to enjoy the sport of horse racing-and make smart bets. It explains what goes on at the track, what to look for in horses and jockeys, how to read a racing form and do simple handicapping, and how to manage betting funds and make wagers that stand a good chance of paying off. Complete with coverage of off-track and online betting, it's just what anyone needs to play the ponies-and win!
Also available as an electronic book.

Located just down the street from the thoroughbred track, the harness track has an impressive history. Unlike the short season of thoroughbred racing, harness racing operates nine months of the year. While at the harness track, visitors can stay at the hotel or visit the casino.
Since the eager stallion Messenger trotted off a boat from Europe in 1788, harness racing in America has been a popular sport, and nowhere is this truer than New York State. In the nineteenth century, harness racing attracted spectators from all walks of life. An 1823 race was so popular that businesses adjourned for the day to watch it. The sport reached its peak when the spectacular Roosevelt Raceway opened in 1957. Dean Hoffman offers an in-depth history of the sport's evolution in the Empire State, from the drivers and breeding to betting, legislation and accounts of the most exciting races. Join Hoffman as he sheds light on one of New York's most venerable sports traditions.

A collection of photographs that brings the town and track to life. From the backside, frontside, cultural monuments, and after race-day social gatherings, racing aficionados will treasure this unique keepsake.

Perfect book for a historian or fan of horse racing. Detailed information about the beginning of the life at the race course to the present. In the early 1800s, Saratoga Springs was mostly a tourist destination because of its natural mineral waters and their healing powers. But that changed in 1863 with the opening of the Saratoga Race Course. From then on, summers in the Spa City came alive with the excitement of the "sport of kings." Author Kimberly Gatto chronicles the story of the oldest thoroughbred racetrack in the country, with tales of the famous people and horses that contributed to its illustrious history.

Looking for a fun read? This book has stories that will give you a new look at the track. Saratoga has always been a special place for people who love thoroughbred racing. This is a book that will appeal to racing fans, sports lovers, and readers who just can't resist a good yarn. Saratoga truly comes alive in these exciting, ironic, funny, strange, and adventurous tales. This book is filled with extraordinary stories of racing legends and Hall of Fame jockeys.

Collection of 90 full color photographs capture the racecourse throughout the seasons, as well as life at the track with pre-dawn exercises to afternoon crowds and more. Photographed by a local photojournalist.