Librarian in Training
Tamera LaPointe
MSIS Graduate Student
SUNY Albany
Databases
- America: History and Life with Full Text
Find full-text content of hundreds of journals and books and selective indexing of scholarly literature of the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Civil War Primary Source DocumentsFrom the New-York Historical Society, Civil War Primary Source Documents is an archive of unique manuscripts chronicling the American Civil War as it was experienced. Providing both Northern and Southern perspectives, it covers all aspects of the war, including reactions and impressions from the home front.
- Colonial AmericaOriginal correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, from 1606 to 1822.
- Gale Primary Sources
Search across multiple digitized, text-searchable primary source collections. Tools for finding term frequency and term clusters are also available in the database.
- JSTOR
Digital library of full-text scholarly journals, books, and primary sources. Discover content across a wide range of subjects, including African American studies, anthropology, art, criminal justice, economics, history, literature, political science, psychology, sociology, and women's, gender, and sexuality studies. JSTOR is good for finding and accessing specific articles and books.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Find historical United States newspapers, including Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and Washington Post.