IST 605: Fiber Arts and Traditions Across Cultures

Dictionaries are always useful to have on-hand! Researchers may encounter terms they are not familiar with during the research process. Dictionaries specific to the topic or discipline they are exploring will provide more comprehensive information and context. Using broad dictionaries can also be quite helpful. Subject-specific dictionaries may provide a more authoritative understanding of the topic than a general dictionary. 

The Man-Made Fiber and Textile Dictionary was produced by the Celanese Corporation in 1981. It is no longer in production, but is held by some university libraries. This dictionary covers terms that individuals working in the textile industry may encounter. This text can supplement the research of students, and allow researchers to become more familiar with industry terms.

The Knit Stitch Dictionary was published by Debbie Tomkies in 2015. This dictionary provides information for terms that both beginner and intermediate knitters may need to know. This dictionary amasses over 250 different stitch terms, as well as patterns and instructions for performing each stitch. This dictionary also contains images corresponding to the particular stitch or pattern being defined. Researchers may wish to understand the complexities of particular stitches, and how the artists performed these stitches. Stitches often have cultural significance or may appear often within particular traditions, so researchers should understand the structure of each.

Sarah Hazell's Crochet stitch dictionary provides a comprehensive overview of relevant crochet terms. Approximately 200 crochet stitches are included, defined, and are coupled with detailed instructions. Stitches and patterns have corresponding pictures and charts. Researchers can delve into a number of stitches and patterns, and apply this practical knowledge to their studies. This dictionary is accessible to both beginner and intermediate crafters.

The Dictionary for Ravenstail weaving techniques is a text published in 2020 by the Ravenstail Guild. The Ravenstail Guild is a community organization dedicated to the preservation and publishing of resources related to Tsimshian artwork and traditions. This dictionary is hyper-specific to the indigenous culture, and their particular traditions and techniques in weaving. This text is an example of a dictionary that focuses only on the techniques of one culture. This particular text serves as an authoritative resource for Ravenstail weaving, including images and patterns.

 FabricLink or The Fabric Link Network is a trade-to-consumer resource dedicated to all things textile.  FabricLink is not a book but serves as a useful text. This website is a resource for consumer and manufacturer communications and information on  fabrics, apparel, and other textiles. The site provides consumer tips on topics such as fabric care,   crafting resources, and costuming. Additionally, this website provides a textile dictionary, along  with other resources such as textile indexes and glossaries. The textile dictionary is extensive and   covers terms any person interested in fiber arts would need to become familiar with.