Search Tips
When seeking out materials, particularly in databases that contain diverse and nuanced records, it can be tough to navigate the search process. Using these techniques can help you efficiently reach relevant search results.
Boolean Operators are words and symbols that can be entered into search engines, databases, or catalogs to narrow or expand your search range. Some operators include:
- AND: Using "AND" in your search term tells the resource that ALL or BOTH keywords listed must be included in your search results (example search: poetry AND prose)
- OR: Using "OR" in your search term tells the resource that EITHER keyword listed can be included in your search results (example search: memoir OR essay)
- NOT: Using "NOT" in your search term tells the resource to EXCLUDE a keyword listed in your search results (example search: NOT mystery)
- Truncation (*): Adding a symbol (usually asterisk *) to a keyword tells a resource to include any of its variations in your search results (example usage: *writ = includes write, writing, written, writer, etc.)
- Wildcards: Spelling certain keywords with symbols (?, * or #) incorporates various spellings of them in your search results. Useful words with British and American English variants (example usages: encyclop?dia & dialog##)
- Phrases (" "): Using quotation marks around phrases tells the resource to keep the keywords within them together in your search results. Useful for searching titles, full names or terms (example usage: "creative nonfiction")
Keywords are informative words or phrases that describe the contents of written or recorded materials. When considering the search terms you're using, it's good to consider the keywords of the materials you're aiming to reach.
Here are some useful creative writing search terms to consider incorporating into your next search:
• Creative Writing • Fiction • Poetry • Creative Nonfiction • Prose • Poem • Personal Essay • Memoir • Novel • Short Story • Publishing • Literary Criticism • Craft • Style • Voice • Workshops • Revision •
Below, you'll find useful resources for discovering, accessing and understanding creative works and literary criticism or craft. Many include advanced search settings that welcome the use of these search skills.
Search Tools
-
Gale Books and AuthorsFinding the right book to read next can be a challenge, but Gale Books and Authors can help with the search process. Gale Books and Authors’ search features allow for searching by author and advanced search features, as well as for browsing by genre or book lists curated by experts, librarians or award-winning status. Readers can access in-depth author bios, reviews on selected works, “read-a-likes” recommendations on books similar to given titles and other helpful features. Perfect for browsers and readers, Gale Books and Authors has over 240,000 titles, with insights being updated for new releases.
-
Literature-MapLiterature-Map is a free-to-access online tool to help users find new authors to read. It works by allowing users to search for authors by name and presents results visually as a web of author names. Author names closest in proximity to the searched author’s have the most overlap in readership. Literature Map is hosted by Gnod, the Global Network of Discovery, and based on Gnooks, Gnod’s literature recommendation system. This resource is best suited to readers seeking a visual and simple literature recommendation service to discover new authors to explore.
-
The Internet Speculative Fiction DatabaseThis is a database of bibliographic information on speculative fiction authors, literature, publishers, awards and other related sources. Speculative fiction refers to works of fiction set in non-real worlds, often futuristic or magical. The Internet Speculative Fiction Database allows for searching by type of content and offers numerous browsable lists and directories of entries. Recommended for readers and writers of speculative fiction, this database is maintained by volunteer efforts and invites user contribution (note: minor inaccuracies may be found in entries because of this).
-
Gale Literary IndexGale Literary Index is an index of Gale’s 130 major literature products (some of which are featured in this research guide). Users can search by either author name or work title and receive curated list results of the Gale platforms that include either references to those authors/works or actual works excerpted or in full. Search results also include cross-references to author names, pseudonyms or variant names. This resource is useful for students who already know what authors or works they’re interested in, but are looking to access them or commentary on them digitally.
-
WorldCatWorldCat is a searchable online catalog that includes holdings of any materials held by Online Computing Library Center (OCLC) member libraries. No institution affiliation or account is necessary to access WorldCat. With both simple and advanced search features, WorldCat is useful for finding the closest libraries to a given location where particular books or book editions may be found. It also includes bibliographic information about items, which can assist with generating citations. While WorldCat does have browsable topics and lists of books, this tool is most efficient when users already know which materials they're looking for.
-
Internet ArchiveInternet Archive is a free-to-use nonprofit library providing access to a diverse array of digital materials. Archived works include over 44 million books and texts, in addition to web pages, audio recordings (like audiobooks), videos, images and software programs. Anyone can upload and access materials by creating a free account there. Users can find materials via basic and advanced search features and the archive’s menu includes collection pages organized by medium or format. Books are typically available as scanned PDFs, which may not be as accessible as traditional eBook offerings. Although Internet Archive has previously faced some legal and safety concerns, it receives support from significant library associations and organizations. Internet Archive is recommended to writers interested in accessing multimedia reading materials regardless of institution affiliation.
-
LibbyLibby is a free application that allows access to eBooks, audiobooks and magazines through library affiliation. Multiple library cards can be linked if users have access to more than one library system. While Libby is typically known as a mobile application, it is possible to access it on desktops, laptop web browsers or Amazon Fire tablets. Once titles are open, users can utilize accessible reading features like highlighting and text scaling or search for keywords or phrases within full works. Some limitations of the application are that only one item can be opened at once, loan periods are set by associated libraries and hold periods can be lengthy for popular titles. Libby is recommended to students seeking accessible and portable reading options.
-
Gale Literature Resource CenterGale Literature Resource Center includes biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, audio recordings of interviews, and literature reviews from ancient to present-day thinkers. It is Gale’s most up-to-date and comprehensive online literature resource, offering access to materials about 130,000+ writers globally. Search options like person search, works search, topic finder, and advanced search allow for increased accuracy in search results, while the home page features notable works and topics to inspire search journeys. This resource is best suited to finding analysis of literature and authors and is also suitable for interdisciplinary pursuits. The audio recordings included also allow for multimedia viewing or listening experiences.
-
LION (Literature Online)Literature Online, or LION, is an online library of over 350,000 English and American full-text materials. This includes criticism works such as scholarly articles, reviews and books, primary texts of poetry, drama and prose and reference works like encyclopedias, dictionaries, study guides and topic overviews. For research assistance, LION offers advanced search features to limit results by content type and a publication list of its nearly 15,000 publications. For browsing purposes, LION offers lists of materials organized by literary periods, literary movements, authors, literature collections and study guides. LION is useful for student writers searching or browsing for a wide array of literature and criticism.
-
The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991Available through Gale Primary Sources, this is an archive of writing compiled by the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) weekly magazine The Listener between the years 1929-1991. It includes full-text contributions from established and then-emerging writers, artists, social commentators, and other thinkers, some including E.M. Forster, Slyvia Plath, and Virginia Woolf. A valuable resource not only on fiction, poetry, interviews, articles and essays of this era, this archive also provides valuable historical insights on the critical and public reception of such works and figures. This archive also includes advanced search features, search tools and useful search tips. Perfect for student researchers, writers and casual browsers alike.
-
American Fiction, 1774-1920American Fiction is an archive of American prose fiction written from the founding of the United States until the First World War. Its full-text entries comprise novels, short stories, romances, travel accounts and more, providing valuable insight into American culture, issues and values during this time. The archive includes advanced search features, search tools and other search tips. Useful for student writers looking to focus on historic American authors of fiction, American Fiction can be accessed through the University at Albany Libraries’ Database Finder.
-
Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Second EditionTwentieth-Century American Poetry is a collection of poems written by twentieth-century American poets. This collection is representative of modern and some contemporary works and features both establishing and emerging poets. Some poets include Maya Angelou, Susan Howe, Langston Hughes and Billy Collins. With advanced search features, filtering by publication, and an author list for browsing, this collection is ideal for student poets looking to become familiar with a wide range of voices in the covered period.
-
Oxford DictionariesThis is a collection of Oxford Dictionaries in English and eight additional languages. For the English language, users have access to dictionary, thesaurus, grammar and usage search features. For other languages, translation and grammar resources are available. Oxford Dictionaries can be accessed through the University at Albany Libraries’ Database Finder and is available through university login.
-
The Free DictionaryThe Free Dictionary is a free-to-access online dictionary including dictionaries for 14 languages. It also offers articles on the "word of the day" and historical anniversaries, fun word games and other unique features. While The Free Dictionary's entries and layout may not be as succinct as other dictionaries, its features are uniquely educational and may even provide inspiration for various writing projects. This resource is recommended for writers seeking accessible and nuanced dictionary options.
-
Essential Literary Terms
by
ISBN: 9780393283891Publication Date: 2016-08-31"Literature is comprised not simply of literal statements but also of implied perspectives on such statements, and of nuances in their meaning," Sharon Hamilton, "Essential Literary Terms." Hamilton's work is dedicated to defining the elements that comprise these perspectives and nuances, including 225 literary terms with examples and relevant exercises. These terms cover poetic and narrative forms and devices and are defined in clear, concise language. Recommended to students and teachers of writing alike, this useful guide can be requested for borrowing at UAlbany Libraries or you can check for availability at your local library for it on WorldCat. -
Dreyer's English: An Utterly Correct Guide to Clarity and Style
by
ISBN: 9780812995701Publication Date: 2019-01-29As the former copy chief at Random House, Benjamin Dreyer has spent many years thinking about grammar. In this guide, he shares useful lessons on punctuation, sprinkling in fun facts and bits of humor throughout. "Dreyer's English" is recommended to students and teachers of writing interested in sharpening their editing or self-editing skills with one limitation worth noting: its focus on MLA style over other writing styles. It can be requested for borrowing at UAlbany Libraries or you can check for availability at your local library for it on WorldCat.
