Find Manga
Looking to find out more information about the manga before you read it like plot information and reviews. Use these resources:
VIZ: Read the Best Manga. (2024). Viz.com. https://www.viz.com/manga-books
Viz owns Shonen Jump the world's most popular manga. Here you can find titles by searching the title, author or character. This site is great for reading previews before committing to a manga series. The site also gives recommendations based on what are you are interested in reading. Simply use the search tips section to find new manga or input the title of manga, a character you know or the author in the search box.
Browse Manga - No Flying No Tights. (2020, September 2). Noflyingnotights.com. https://noflyingnotights.com/browse-manga/
No Flying No Tights is a detailed review site dedicated to graphic novels, comics and manga. In the manga section you can input the title in the search bar or use the search tips page. You can use the drop boxes to select your age range and narrow down by the genre you want to read. You can see reviews of manga before you read it. This is helpful with getting a detailed description before you commit your time to reading a series.
- Gale Books and AuthorsThe database includes over 100,000 fiction and nonfiction book titles. I like this database because I can search titles by narrowing down to audience level and genre. When looking for manga you can input shonen or shojo for a simple search(keyword) or you can put manga and select the audience level of children and or young adult. If you are looking for a specific title or author select author or title in the search dropbox. Use the search tips techniques on the home page for assistance.
Borrow Manga
To borrow manga in print and online look into the following resources:
Internet Archive: Digital Library of Free & Borrowable Texts, Movies, Music & Wayback Machine
Internet archive is a nonprofit organization that provides free access to digital media collections including online texts. This is a great source for reading manga online for free. Simply create a login to search and borrow materials. Just insert the search title in the search box or use the recommend methods on "search tips" tab to find a manga to enjoy.
Google books is a digital library that is a part of Google were users can search for ecopies or print versions of books. Just search for the title and click on get the book. This section of Google is great because you do not have to purchase e copies or physical copies as you have borrowing options as well. Look at the borrow options which will link you to free ebooks or the nearest library that has a print copy by entering your zip code.
Worldcat is a global library catalog. Worldcat's bibliographic database is the largest in the world. This is a great source for finding special editions using the advanced search option by putting in keywords in the Boolean search boxes that make the item unique. You can select the format to narrow down results. Users can also use the recommended search tips to find manga that is located in your nearest library or find a copy for interloan(have the item shipped to your local library).
UHLS catalog or your library system 
Upper Hudson Library System covers 29 public libraries in the Albany and Rensselaer NY counties. You can search the catalog to find out if manga is in the system. Enter your library card information to place holds to have manga delivered to your home library. Not part of UHLS system? Google your local library to find their catalog and borrowing online features or speak to a library worker in person at your local library and they will help you find the manga you wish to read.