IST 605: Hiking in the Adirondacks and Local History

Stegemann, E., Morris, L., & Collins, D. (2019). HIKE SAFELY: Be Smart. Be Prepared. The New York State Conservationist, 73(5), 8–12.

This source provides a more in-depth look about safety precautions hikers can take, as well as the author’s own experience with Mt. Marcy. As the author mentions, Mt. Marcy is a challenging hike, so this source will also show how to prepare for more challenging hikes and what hikers can anticipate if they choose this route. The author also provides a precautionary tale about what happens when a hike goes wrong and the consequences of failing to prepare for potentially dangerous conditions. This source will be useful for anyone looking to engage with a more challenging hike, and provides plenty of details about safety precautions. However, this source may not be useful to readers looking to go on easier hike.

Adirondack Mountains. (2020). In Encyclopædia Britannica Online. Encyclopædia Britannica Inc.
This Encyclopedia Britannica article was included with the intention of providing a starting point for readers to learn about the Adirondack Mountains and the history behind them. The entry discusses the formation of the Adirondack Mountain region and provides a timeline of how they changed geologically over time. In addition, the entry gives a history behind the name Adirondack itself, and some back background into the explorer Samuel de Champlain. The article does lack historical references to the Native Americans, a major part of Adirondack history, so anyone looking for that information will not find it in this source.

Best Places to Hike in Upstate NY By Samantha Simmons. (2021). In University Wire. Uloop, Inc.
This source provides a quick overview of popular hiking spots in the Adirondacks recommended by the author, as well as tools to find new hiking locations. The author includes beginner hikers, moderate hikes, and difficult hikes so that readers have a range of challenges to choose from. One factor to consider while reading this source is that people often have different perspectives of what an easy or challenging hike entails, so readers should be sure to do their own background research on any hike they choose. The article also provides useful tips to readers about what safety precautions should be taken. Overall, this source will be useful for anyone who wants a quick read that will guide them to the best hikes.

Caifa, T. (2012). Worth every step--conquering the high peaks.(Adirondack Mountains). The New York State Conservationist, 66(6), 14-.
This source is an account of hiking in the Adirondack Wilderness from a hiker who was new to hiking in the area. The source provides specific descriptions of the author’s experience on hiking the Adirondack high peaks, as well as encouragement and helpful tips to succeed. This source would be useful for hikers who are just starting out hiking in the Adirondack wilderness and need tips on what not to do. In addition, the source provides a realistic perspective from an average hiker who had to encounter worst case scenario experiences on their first hike. One downside of the article is that the hiker is not local to the area, so their opinion might be biased.

Ballard, J. (2013). Exploring New York’s Adirondacks: camping, hiking and canoeing in the largest park in the contiguous United States. In Trailer life (Vol. 73, Number 7, pp. 16-). TL Enterprises, Inc.
This article provides additional history about the Adirondack Park as well as a geographical description of the region. The author gives relevant facts that will provide the reader with plenty of background information about each specific region of the Adirondacks. This resource will be useful for any reader hoping for information on the local history of each area, as well as a description of what they can expect to see when visiting the area. One downside of this article is that it is does not cover every region in the Adirondacks. However, it provides plenty of specific information about the regions that are included.

Lampman, W. (2014). Celebrating an Adirondack hiking traditions: the Northville Placid Trail turns 90. The New York State Conservationist, 68(6), 24-.
This article provides another eyewitness perspective on hiking the Adirondack region and includes plenty of local history on the region. The author, Wes Lampman, provides the reader with their unique experience on the history of a specific hiking trail, the Northville Placid Trail. This hiking trail receives a high number of visitors each year and is well known as a important landmark in the region. The focus on a specific trail will give readers an example of what the history of a specific trail in the region is like.