IST 605: Exploring Censorship in Literature and Libraries

‌References:‌

1. American Association of School Librarians. (2018). AASL standards framework for learners. https://standards.aasl.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/180206-AASL-framework-for-learners-2.pdf  AND
2. Meyer, R. (n.d.). LibGuides: Information Fluency Continuum: Section 1: Framework. Slsa-Nys.libguides.com. https://slsa-nys.libguides.com/ifc/framework
   1. These websites provide links to the library curriculum standards. They are an outlined guide of how librarians need to develop lessons and plans for the classes in order to promote not only library learning, but also create lifelong learning opportunities. They are the national standards (AASL) as well as the NY state standards (SLSA) that librarians use to create curriculum. They encourage diversified, inclusive reading as well as problem-solving and a pyramid approach to learning.
3. American Library Association. (n.d.). Top 10 Most Challenged Books of 2023 | Banned Books. Www.ala.org. https://www.ala.org/bbooks/frequentlychallengedbooks/top10 AND
4. Banned & Challenged Books | Banned Books. (n.d.). Www.ala.org. https://www.ala.org/bbooks
   1. These two articles go together as a part of access to the banned book site from the ALA. There are links to the most banned books in the last decade, last year (included) and in different genres. Additionally, there are links to resources for information and advocacy as well as different break-down statistics of book challenges by category of those challenges (ie; topics covered, written by authors/illustrators of color, representation, etc) These are lists of books, however, and not discussions of ‘why’ the books were banned. For more in depth information, additional articles are required.
5. Becnel, K., & Moeller, R. A. (2020). “I’m Conflicted about My Shelf of Censorship”: High School Library Graphic Novel Collection Development in North Carolina, USA. School Libraries Worldwide, 26(1), 124–135. https://doi-org.libproxy.albany.edu/10.29173/slw8252 
   (https://journals.library.ualberta.ca/slw/index.php/slw/article/view/8252/5096)
   1. This is an excellent research study done to examine the use of self-censorship in schools when choosing/displaying books in the library. Surveys were conducted and analyzed revealing that many (82%!!! In Tx) librarians will pause when selecting books because they may contain a controversial issue or representation. With graphic novels continuing to grow in popularity, this study examines how this censorship affects the collection building of graphic novels in middle schools and where/why librarians are choosing not to select books. (hint: challenges make it very difficult) Also looks at the legal implications of these choices via the CBLDF—comic book legal defense fund.
6. Censorship Beyond Books. (2019, September 24). American Libraries Magazine. https://americanlibrariesmagazine.org/2019/09/24/censorship-beyond-books/?utm_source=pocket_saves
   1. This article also examines how displays and categorizations and decorations in school libraries promote censorship. The use of specific terminology and grouping specific groups and topics together highlight the educational disparity. Certain displays that highlight only certain groups of students or viewpoints shows the biased agendas in schools, educational inequity and underrepresentation. The article also examines how administration and librarians can promote diversity or censor knowledge by limiting to promoting access to certain texts.
7. De Faizo, V. S. (2023). FREADOM: Songs Inspired by Banned Children's Books. School Library Journal, 69(12), 60+. https://link-gale-com.libproxy.albany.edu/apps/doc/A779118572/AONE?u=albanyu&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=4faeb37f
   1. “As an activist, songwriter, and performer seeing the fight against banning books grow nationwide, Leeds went on a quest to add her voice to the cause. She and her daughter read many picture books that had been banned, chose a few of their favorites, then Leeds wrote songs inspired by those books. The result is the original anthem "Banned" and seven songs performed by Leeds and a host of her celebrated peers. The picture book-based songs kick-off with Leeds and her signature kindie rock sound on "Tango" (Justin Richardson and Peter Parnell's And Tango Makes Three), then turn to a more country-tinged "Cholent Time" (Mara RocklifFs Chik Chak Shabbat). After that, the album embraces Caribbean beats on "Inside Your Heart" (Junot Diaz's hlandbom), and the a cappella jam "Rainbow Flag," (Rob Sanders's Pride: The Story of Harvey Milk and the Rainbow Flag). Also included in the collection are "Block Party" (Patricia Polacco's In Our Mothers' House) and "Born That Way" (Marcus Ewert's 10,000 Dresses)” This a very unique celebration of banned books in a different media and different form. Excellent representation.
8. Foote, C. (2022/09//). 10 TIPS FOR RESPONDING TO BOOK CHALLENGES IN SCHOOLS. Computers in Libraries, 42(7), 32-36. https://www-proquest-com.libproxy.albany.edu/trade-journals/10-tips-responding-book-challenges-schools/docview/2709984563/se-2
   1. This article looks at the increase in book challenges and what do about them—specifically, how to be prepared for them. The best advice from this article is to be armed with information, policy, and support. It references the urge from ALA to have an airtight challenge policy as well as speaking to the district’s legal team for support. Additionally, being prepared for questions with all information on hand is very helpful and aids in sounding intelligent and confident in your position. Good advice, especially for new librarians.
9. Garry, Candi Pierce. "Selection or censorship? School librarians and LGBTQ resources." School Libraries Worldwide, vol. 21, no. 1, Jan. 2015, pp. 73+. Gale Literature Resource Center, dx.doi.org.libproxy.albany.edu/10.14265.21.1.005. Accessed 22 July 2024.
   1. “All students, including those who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender or queer (LGBTQ), benefit from quality library books that reflect their experiences. This mixed-method research project examines whether public high school library professionals self-censor their library collections when it comes to materials with LGBTQ themes. Quantitative data were collected from 120 Ohio public high school libraries and 12 school librarians were interviewed. The results suggest that school libraries tended to have significantly fewer LGBTQ-themed books than titles with other kinds of controversial content, and that certain school-based factors such as high enrolment, racial diversity, liberal-leaning community locations; and presence of certified school librarians, were present in schools with more inclusive LGBTQ collections. Qualitative findings supported the quantitative analyses in that participants stressed the importance of a supportive community and administration when developing a quality, inclusive library collection.” The importance of this study is to illustrate that despite benefiting from having access to books that represent their lifestyle, libraries are containing less of them in reaction to recent bans and challenges in Ohio. Not only is this self-censorship detrimental to the LGBTQIA+ population, but also allied students and families who want to support their peers, as well as students who may have questions. So, the student population at large. This is a scientific study backed by quantitative and qualitative data analysis.
10. Gooding-Call, A. (2021, September 3). Racism in the Dewey Decimal System. BOOK RIOT. https://bookriot.com/racism-in-the-dewey-decimal-system/?utm_source=pocket_saves
    1. This article blows apart the dewey decimal system. It should be noted that the importance of the DDS is still valid. However, examining the person who was DEWEY means taking a hard look at how he catalogued books and assigned numbers to categories. (Ie; religion: Judeo-Christian vs literally every other world religion.) These grouping patterns allowed for non-white, non-christians to be group together in an indecipherable pile. By dissecting the DDS, we have to look at how to appropriately catalogue books for equitable access.
11. ‌Hastie, D. (2017). Teacher and institutional self-censorship of English texts in NSW Protestant schools. English in Australia (0155-2147), 52(1), 36–45.
    1. Using the following questions, “I have selected texts to teach, on the basis of personal faith perspectives.” And “ I have excluded texts to teach, on the basis of disagreement with my personal faith perspectives.” This paper examines self-censorship amongst religious schools in Australia  “Almost identical questions were posed to a further 64 state school English teachers (the control sample), replacing the word 'faith' with the more generic 'religion'. Whilst over 70% of the Protestant school sample self-identified as Evangelical / Pentecostal, the range of religious orientations amongst the state school sample was diverse, with the largest Catholic, then a range of other Christian religions, a few non-Christian religion participants and a handful of agnostics / atheists. There were only four 'Evangelicals' in the state school sample. Around 60% of the Protestant school sample reported that their personal faith perspectives had an influence on their text exclusions, but only 10% reported this occurring to a great extent. A third of teachers reported that they had not excluded texts from teaching on the basis of their personal faith perspectives at all. However over 70% of the Protestant school sample reported that their personal faith perspectives had an influence on their text selections.”  Though the study is older and the population small, it does help establish a linear pattern of self-censorship in libraries as well as consistent timelines with the progression of book challenges, banning, and the basis thereof.
12. Hickson, M. (2022). Surviving Censorship in the School Library. Booklist, 118(11), 42. (https://www.booklistonline.com/Trade-Secrets-Surviving-Censorship-in-the-School-Library/pid=9759233)
    1. This is a great reference list for librarians looking for challenge advice. It is something that can be printable and accessible—saved in the ‘just in case’ file. Unlike the other articles about how to handle challenges, this one looks at involving the ‘challenger’ in the process—talking to them, having them put the effort in writing. As said in another referenced article, the more work the policy requires for the ban, the less likely it is that it will be followed through. This list also includes the art of conversation to attempt to dissolve any misunderstanding before the complaint continues.
13. Jensen, K. (2022, February 15). Soft and Quiet: Self-Censorship In An Era of Book Challenges. BOOK RIOT. https://bookriot.com/what-is-soft-or-quiet-censorship/
    1. This article explains the reality of censorship in libraries. It examines bias of librarians and the community in the selection of materials. It also looks at how materials are displayed and catalogued affects how the intended audience has access to the collection. Provides a critical view of how libraries are assembled and suggests that motives behind selections should be examined.
14. Kim, R. (2022). Banning books: Unlawful censorship, or within a school’s discretion? Phi Delta Kappan, 103(7), 62–64. (https://kappanonline.org/banning-books-unlawful-censorship-discretion-kim/)
    1. This article examines the legal ramifications Island Trees Union Free School District v. Pico (U.S. Sup. Ct., 1982) and how that ruling remains critical today. Under the Reinquist leadership it was determined that schools (elementary, specifically) cannot prohibit materials from being purchased simply because they do not align with the school belief system. Since then, other cases have come to the court examining the rights of schools to prevent certain texts from being in a library collection. “ACLU v. Miami-Dade County School Board (11th Cir., 2009), involved the book A Visit to Cuba and its Spanish-language counterpart, ¡Vamos a Cuba!, which were part of a book series for children ages 4 to 8 about “what life is like for a child” in various countries. A parent — a former political prisoner from Cuba — alleged that the book’s references to Cuba’s history and culture (“People in Cuba eat, work, and go to school like you do”) were “untruthful” and “portray[ed] a life in Cuba that does not exist.” The board agreed that the book presented a skewed picture of life in Cuba, which “in reality under the Castro regime is bad — really bad,” and they pointed to mischaracterizations of Cuban customs, dress, and art” This article also examines legal problems with the precedents set because the motivations or agendas of those making decisions (e.g. board members) have to be clearly prohibitive to certain populations—which can be impossible to determine.
15. Koss, M. D., & Paciga, K. A. (2023). Five Sites of Resistance Against Censorship: Middle School Teachers Speak. Illinois Reading Council Journal, 52(1), 24–33. https://doi-org.libproxy.albany.edu/10.33600/IRCJ.52.1.2023.24 AND
16. Koss, M. D., Wickens, C. M., & Waither, C. S. (2010). Censorship and Controversial Materials in Chicagoland Middle and High Schools. Illinois Reading Council Journal, 39(1), 29–46.
    1. These articles are done by the same author to compliment one another as an examination of book banning and challenges in High and Middle Schools in Chicago. The articles not only highlight which books are being banned, but additionally what someone can do about it. The first article provides great resources for those who would like to advocate, but a membership to the IRCJ is required to have full access.
17. LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF IDAHO Sixty-seventh Legislature Second Regular Session -2024 IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES HOUSE BILL NO. 710 BY STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE AN ACT. (n.d.). https://legislature.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/sessioninfo/2024/legislation/H0710.pdf
    1. This is a direct link to the recently passed and signed Idaho Bill 710 as well as a breakdown of what the bill actually means. Bill 710 enables patrons to challenge books and receive a $250 stipend if their challenge is upheld. It also states that challenged books and banned books must be immediately removed from shelves and librarians can be held responsible if they are not. The implications of this legislation is devastating small libraries as they are trying to find loopholes to allow children and families to have access to books. Some rural libraries have opted to close because they cannot afford the fines.
18. Linder, R. (2015, September-October). Exploring censorship: using challenged and banned picture books to introduce middle and high school students to a controversial topic. Literacy Today, 33(2), 36+. https://link-gale-com.libproxy.albany.edu/apps/doc/A429279472/AONE?u=albanyu&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=3044fd05 (https://mydigimag.rrd.com/publication/?m=37874&i=272198&p=38&ver=html5)
    1. This is an excellent examination of not only curriculum development across different genres, but using banned books in public policy and ELA classes. This article uses examples of some of the most banned children’s books (Green Eggs and Ham, Where the Wild Things Are, Walter the Farting Dog, etc) and challenges the students to critique why the book was challenged/banned and formulate their own opinions. Additionally, there are references to various advocacy sites as well as sites that list the most banned and challenged books. This is an excellent cross-over lesson idea as well as reference tool. It supports the idea that students can think or believe however they like—they just have to defend their position.
19. Miller, D., & Sharp, C. (2018). Game changer! : Book access for all kids. Scholastic Inc.
    1. “Literacy advocates with a deep passion for books bestselling author Donalyn Miller and 5th grade teacher Colby Sharp showcase the power of children s access to books, providing teachers and administrators with the tools and information they need to increase children s meaningful interaction with books and to launch or sustain book access initiatives in their communities. Through research and testimonials from voices in the field and their own classroom experiences, Miller and Sharp provide practical and resourceful information on a range of topics and areas, (including successful school and classroom libraries, the power of book ownership, the importance of cultural and social access to books, and meaningful family-community reading engagement) designed to help dramatically increase children s access to and life-changing engagement with books.”  (Scholastic, 2018.)
20. Rickman, W. (2010). A Study of Self-Censorship by School Librarians. School Library Media Research, 13, 1–21. (https://www.ala.org/sites/default/files/aasl/content/aaslpubsandjournals/slr/vol13/SLR_StudyofSelf-Censorship_V13.pdf)
    1. A comparative study to examine the existence of self-censorship in libraries and librarians. This quantitative study from 2010 resulted in less than 20% of librarians reporting the inclination to self-censor—interestingly, this is in stark contrast to the 2020 study done by Becnel and Moeller (See above) which reported over 80% self-censorship reporting—this provides data for a conversation about causation and implications of censorship and how it has changed in even the last 15 years. This study also looks at the age demographic breakdown for analysis—with the only population reporting the tendency to self-censor being over 60. Very interesting piece to use as a pivot for future research.
21. Strike, K. A. (1985). A Field Guide of Censors: Toward a Concept of Censorship in Public Schools. Teachers College Record, 87(2), 239–258. https://doi-org.libproxy.albany.edu/10.1177/016146818508700202
    1. This is an old (1985) article about  what the definition of  “censor” is. It looks at different removal options for texts and whether or not it should be considered censorship in a public library. This is a valuable resource because though it is from almost 40 years ago, not only does it highlight a continuing discussion, but it is also a good comparison of how things are today and what people consider censorship. Looks at the difference in terms of censorship and what we consider book challenges, censorship and banning today. Drawback: need a membership for full article.
22. Thomas, D. (2020). Book Banning and Its Effects on Schools [Review of Book Banning and Its Effects on Schools]. The Torch, 94(1). http://www.ncsociology.org/torchmagazine/v941/thomas.html
    1. This is an in-depth look at the banning of what is considered ‘classic’ literature and the books therein. However, in addition the main article itself, there is a subsection examining the selection of textbooks for school classrooms. Textbook selection, analysis, and decision sets forth an entire educational agenda for students and the academic community. The selection about what goes into the selection process as well as highlighting potential bias—additional food for thought.
23. The fight over banning books. (n.d.). Www.youtube.com. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IAsEJ29xV-A
    1. “Between 2020 and 2022, the number of book titles that have been banned in U.S. libraries and schools spiked more than 1,100%, to more than 2,500, while activists in 37 states have challenged school districts for offering non-fiction and fiction books that discuss race and racism, slavery, sex and gender identity. Correspondent Martha Teichner talks with opposing forces on the reading battlefield today, from the founders of the activist group Moms for Liberty, to library officials, a teacher removed from her classroom for giving her students access to banned books, and cartoonist Art Spiegelman, whose Holocaust-themed graphic novel "Maus" has been targeted by book banners.” (Fight Over Banning Books, 2023.)
24. Tudor, A., Moore, J., & Byrne, S. (2023). Silence in the Stacks: An Exploration of Self-censorship in High School Libraries. School Libraries Worldwide, 28(1), 1–25. https://doi-org.libproxy.albany.edu/10.29173/slw8555
    1. This is article examines Texas high and middle schools—the state with the most challenged and banned books in the country. The goal of the study was to find out why and how books were being censored and which ones were specifically targeted. This is a mixed method study with analysis being done on both interviews and surveys to determine how many librarians engaged in self-censorship (not buying or displaying books because they may be considered controversial) and what books were chosen to be excluded—(main characters and themes were much more of a deciding factor than language or experiences within the book.) This is a very recent and relative study and incredibly informative—representing the current trends in the tx school system.
25. Weimer, K. (2023). From Berkeley to Beloved: Race and Sexuality in the History of Book Censorship in Virginia. Virginia Libraries https://doi.org/10.21061/valib.v67i1.651
    1. “The 2022 legislation and book challenges represent the latest phase in which efforts to restrict reading material have been part of Virginians’ attempts to determine—most often to maintain—a social order.” This paper examines the history and criteria of the most challenged and banned books in VA, showing that book challenges are by no means a new problem. However, it does illustrate that history is repeating itself with a recent surge in challenged titles, specifically those with “non-traditional lifestyles” A recent gubernatorial candidate, Glenn Younkin, ran on the platform that parents should have control over the ‘education of their children’ which included not ‘exposing’ students to ‘illicit’ texts. Overall, an in-depth look at the history of VA book challenges.
26. Witteveen, A. (2019, September 25). Ditching Dewey? These Ideas Can Get You Started on Genrefication. School Library Journal. https://www.slj.com/story/ditching-dewey-libraries-These-Ideas-Can-Get-You-Started-on-Genrefication
    1. This article examines the move from the DDS to genrefication. Genrefication is the grouping of books by subject area for easy access to students looking for specific interests. These groupings allow for more books to get into more students’ hands as they feel confident and comfortable moving through the library independently. This process allows for students to discover new authors, and by purposely arranging books into like-minded sections, allows for growing exploration. However, personal preference also has a very real influence on organization. A descriptive article about the benefits of genrefication and how to accomplish it in your own library successfully.