IST 605: Resources for Elementary Research Project on Animals

This resource is especially useful for students in grades 3-5. There are numerous animals and topics that users can search for. If the text is too difficult to read, there is an option to have it read out loud! With every search, there is a tab named “Article” which gives information about the subject, and there is a tab named “Media,” which gives more photos, videos, and sounds. This could be helpful for teachers, as there is information about the Curriculum Standards each listing addresses.

This online encyclopedia is useful for all levels of learners. It includes a “Reading Level” option that allows users to select their reading level, on a scale from 1-3. For the lowest reading level, their is an option for the article to be read aloud. The differentiation of each result is impressive and appeals to a wide audience. It includes a section for teachers that provides the standards that could be covered with each result. Another feature that I appreciate is the “Web’s Best Sites” tab. This provides users with other websites that relate to the topic which were selected by Britannica editors.

I found that this site is appealing to students because of the visual appeal. It has a “wow” factor when you first get to the site. The bright colors and cartoon-like images on the homepage make it welcoming for young users. Although animals are a big part of this site, there are also tabs on History, Science, Space, U.S. States, and many more different types of information. This is appropriate for older elementary students, as there is not an option for the text to be read out loud. Although younger students may enjoy watching videos or playing games that are provided on the homepage.

This site is unique because it allows users to use a filter option to explore animals or plants by their type, the area they live in, or by their endangered status. Users can also find information by using the search box. There are different activities users can choose to complete that relate to the topic, and games that encourage more learning opportunities. The “grown ups” section gives parents and educators resources to expand on the information and extend the learning experiences.

Students will learn all about mammals with his nonfiction book. This is part of a set of encyclopedias that include a variety of different species, including amphibians, reptiles, and birds. The table of contents allows students to see what information this book contains. Readers can read or listen to the story and easily find information within the book.

This book offers information on a variety of dessert animals and how they survive in the extreme heat. Students are introduced to a wide range of desert animals and the vivid pictures allow students to clearly see what they look like and what their surroundings look like. Students can practice using the glossary and the index to define key words and practice finding information in the book. This is part of a series. Students can explore other nonfiction books on rain forest, polar, and ocean animal adaptations.

Pesky critters can be a nuisance, especially when you don't know how to deal with them! Students will be introduced to some animals that could cause trouble in homes or outdoors. They will learn ways to deal with the invaders and ways to prevent them from invading their homes. The glossary and index at the end of the book is helpful if students need to find specific information quickly.

For the dinosaur enthusiasts, this book gives information about everything dinosaurs! From when they roamed the earth to when they became extinct, readers will enjoy learning about different kinds of dinosaurs and the times periods that they lived. This book is easy-to-read with labels and bold print for vocabulary words and provides interesting illustrations for students to see what dinosaurs really looked like.

From the Smithsonian Little Explorer series, this is an introduction to the world of insects. Students will learn about different kinds of insects and what they eat, where they live, and why they are important for the environment! The table of contents, glossary, and index makes this eBook a research essential for students in grades 3-5. Students can find other animals in this series, including sharks, dogs, snakes, and African animals.

These virtual field trips allow students to travel the world and unknown environments from the comfort of the classroom! From agriculture to climate change, students can watch a variety of videos on nature and explore different places and animals. Each field trip includes a video, teacher guides, and student activities. Teachers, this is a one-stop-shop for research!