Introduction to Criticisms and Conversations
The works of J.R.R. Tolkien have sparked many a debate, conversation, and criticism. Collected below are just a small number that address a wide range of discussions that have been sparked within the academic arena.
To facilitate easier navigation of these resources I have separated them into Books, Articles, Interviews and Video.
Criticisms and Conversations
 |
The Ring and the Cross by Paul E. Kelly Available from EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America) ISBN: 978-1611476200 This book explores the influence of Tolkien's Christianity (and Catholicism) on his writing. Although this primarily focuses on "The Lord of the Rings" it does examine how religion has impacted other writings. Despite Tolkien's own statement declaring the Middle-Earth is not a Christian society this book explores the different scholarly interpretations of how religion has seeped into the pages of Tolkien's work.
Kerry, Paul E. (2011). The Ring and the Cross : Christianity and the Lord of the Rings. Fairleigh Dickinson University Press. |
 |
The Ring of Words: Tolkien and the Oxford English Dictionary by Peter Gilliver, Jeremy Marshall & E. S. C. Wiener Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press ISBN: 978-0199210763 The book looks at the contributions that Tolkien made to the Oxford English Dictionary. Gilliver, Marshall and Wiener start by detailing the contributions Tolkien made to the OED before going on to explore Tolkien's ability to apply his linguistic knowledge to his own works. The book explores over 100 of Tolkien's most interesting words as used in his writing, which is fascinating for anyone who has an interest in how words can be used.
Gilliver, Peter., Marshall, Jeremy., & Weiner, E. S. C. (2006). The ring of words : Tolkien and the Oxford English dictionary. Oxford University Press. |
 |
J.R.R. Tolkien and His Literary Resonances: Views of Middle-earth by George Clark & Daniel Timmons Greenwood Press ISBN: 978-0313308451 Much of the criticism of Tolkien's work focuses on his use of medieval literature. In this text Clark and Timmons show how Tolkien's work can be placed within a larger literary context. By exploring Tolkien's writing over the whole range of English literature starting with oral tradition through to modern day literary theories they examine Tolkien's work as a modern day piece of mainstream literature.
Clark, G., & Timmons, D. (2000). J.R.R. Tolkien and his literary resonances : views of Middle-earth. Greenwood Press. |
 |
Tolkien and the study of his sources : critical essays by Jason Fisher McFarland & Co. ISBN: 978-0786464821 This book contains analysis and some criticism of Tolkien with regards to his source material selection. It discusses the many sources from which Tolkien drew his inspiration focusing on his reasoning for choosing that source in the hopes that it will better inform readers in terms of improving their understanding of his text.
Fisher, J. (2011). Tolkien and the study of his sources : critical essays. McFarland & Co. |
 |
Tolkien's Intellectual Landscape by Edward L. Risden Jefferson, North Carolina : McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers ISBN: 978-0786498659 An examination of the influence that the works of Tolkien have had on contemporary fiction and film making. This book discusses how the works of Tolkien continue to entertain and inspire readers and movie goers alike with the world of Middle-Earth
Risden, E. L. (2015). Tolkien’s Intellectual Landscape. McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers. |
 |
Binding them all : interdisciplinary perspectives on J.R.R. Tolkien and his works Zurich : Walking Tree Publishers ISBN: 978-3905703375 A selection of papers from the Tolkien Lecture Series at the University of Augsburg in 2014. These papers discuss the potential for interdisciplinary study in connection to Tolkien's writing in the fields of literature, linguistics, geography, history, communications, and cultural studies.
Binding them all : interdisciplinary perspectives on J.R.R. Tolkien and his works. (2017). Walking Tree Publishers. |
 |
War and the works of J.R.R. Tolkien by Janet Brennan Croft Westport, Conn. : Praeger ISBN: 979-8765123317 Tolkien served in World War I, two of his children served in World War II. These events had a lasting and complex influence of Tolkien. This book examines the relationship that Tolkien had with war, and its impact on his writing from his early publications through to him more famous later ones.
Croft, J. Brennan. (2004). War and the works of J.R.R. Tolkien. Praeger. |
|
ARTICLE |
“Jewish” Dwarves: Tolkien and Anti-Semitic Stereotyping by R. Vink West Virginia University Press In this article Vink explores the use of the Jewish stereotypes by Tolkien when writing "The Hobbit" and while Tolkien admitted that the comparison between Dwarves and the Jewish people was valid he only changed the negative stereotype of Dwarves as seen in "The Hobbit" to a more positive stereotype in his later works. Vink attempts to address concerns that Tolkien applied anti-sematic stereotypes when referring to Dwarves in his writings.
Vink, R. (2013). “Jewish” Dwarves: Tolkien and Anti-Semitic Stereotyping. Tolkien Studies 10, 123-145. https://doi.org/10.1353/tks.2013.0003 |
|
ARTICLE |
Tolkien's females and the defining of power. by N. Enright Milwaukee: Marquette University Press This article explores the criticisms of Tolkien's limited inclusions of females within his writing. It examines the conflict amongst scholars who say Tolkien's own masculine world led him to predominantly place women in stereotypical roles versus those scholars who states while Tolkien did use women sparingly when he did so they tended to wield power. It discussed the strengths and weaknesses of the portrayal of traditional masculinity with Tolkien's works.
Enright, N. (2007). Tolkien's females and the defining of power. Renascence: Essays on Values in Literature, 59(2), 93+. https://link-gale-com.libproxy.albany.edu/apps/doc/A161502024/LitRC?u=albanyu&sid=summon&xid=de45c930 |
|
ARTICLE |
J. R. R. Tolkien: The British and the Norse in Tension by Marjorie Burns Pacific Coast Philology Burns explores the moral simplicity present within "The Lord of the Rings" and "The Hobbit" she explores the portrayal of good and bad within Tolkien's writing. It address Tolkien's complex relationship with blurring the lines between good and evil despite often returning to the simplistic representation of the two. It addresses the way in which Tolkien is able to bring contradicting portrayals together to generate complex characters and storylines.
Burns, M. (1990). J. R. R. Tolkien: The British and the Norse in Tension. Pacific Coast Philology, 25(1/2), 49–59. https://doi.org/10.2307/1316804 |
|
ARTICLE |
Troy and the Rings: Tolkien and the Medieval Myth of England by Michael Livingston Mythlore This article looks to address the idea that Tolkien wanted to create a mythology for England. It discusses how Livingston feels that many critics have overlooked the impact of the Trojan myths had on the creation of Middle-Earth and how the recognition between the Trojan myths and "The Lord of the Rings" can give valuable insight into how Tolkien utilized source materials in his writing.
Livingston, M. (2013). Troy and the Rings: Tolkien and the Medieval Myth of England. Mythlore, 32(1 (123)), 73–91. http://www.jstor.org/stable/26815847 |
|
ARTICLE |
The Enduring Appeal of J. R. R. Tolkien by J. B. Kuhner National Review An examination of why Tolkien is a source of enduring appeal and lasting success. It examines Tolkien's upbringing, his friendship with C.S. Lewis and his engagement with contemporary issues such as war. The article also suggests that his ability to bring diverse groups together make him relevant to those interested in resistance to cultural disintegration.
Kuhner, J. B. (2024). The Enduring Appeal of J. R. R. Tolkien. National Review, 76(4), 62–63. |
|
ARTICLE |
Slaying Monsters. by J. Acocella The New Yorker A discussion on the publication of Tolkien's translation of Beowulf by Christopher Tolkien 40 years after his father's death. The article explores the origin of Beowulf and explores Tolkien's translation and ongoing editing and tweaking of his translate, even while he was writing "The Hobbit". The article considers the reasoning by the translation choices made by Tolkien.
Acocella, J. (2014, June 2). Slaying Monsters. The New Yorker, 90(15), 70. https://link-gale-com.libproxy.albany.edu/apps/doc/A370751641/LitRC?u=albanyu&sid=summon&xid=abb59015 |
|
ARTICLE |
Tolkien and Rape by T.S. Miller & E. Miller Liverpool: Liverpool University Press Tolkien's depicition of females in his works has been cause for a number of controversial discussions. This article explores the nature of sexual violence in Tolkien's works specifically focusing on the depiction of the spider Shelob and her appetites and the revulsion that she feels at her aging female body.
Miller, T. S., & Miller, E. (2021). Tolkien and Rape. Extrapolation, 62(2), 133-. https://doi.org/10.3828/extr.2021.8 |
|
Tolkien Interview |
J.R.R. Tolkien BBC Author Archive Collection An Interview in which Tolkien discussed his writing and some of his thoughts and ideas behind the create of Middle-Earth and the representation of the people of Middle-Earth. A wonderful interview in which you can experience Tolkien explaining his world in his own words. This Interview is hosted by the BBC it can be accessed by Clicking Here
Gueroult, D. (1964). JRR Tolkien [Audio]. BBC Author Archive Collection. https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p021jx7j |
 |
J.R.R.T.: A Film Portrait of J.R.R. Tolkien Landseer Running Time: 1h 50m This documentary was created to celebrate Tolkien's birth (100 year). It features archived footage and audio recordings of Tolkien as well as interviews with his children. It explores Tolkien's life and considers the inspiration for his works. The documentary also includes interviews with Tolkien scholars and his publishers.
Bailey D. (1992) J.R.R.T.: A Film Portrait of J.R.R. Tolkien. [FILM]. Landseer |
 |
Tolkien Fox Searchlight Pictures, Chernin Entertainment Running Time: 1h 52m A biographical film depicting the life of Tolkien. It charts his experiences during World War I, his marriage, and his experiences at school. It moves on to tell the way he used to tell stories to his children and ultimately to his writing those immortal words in "The Hobbit" - "In a hole in the ground their lived a Hobbit".
Dome Karukoski (2019) Tolkien. [FILM]. Fox Searchlight Pictures, Chernin Entertainment |