Find full-text articles and citations for journals, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations, and policy papers in all areas of education. Available on the ProQuest platform.
Tip: On this platform, you may filter your search results by education level (higher education, elementary, secondary) and target audience.
*Searching Early child literacy and teaching reading result in many helpful tools.
All available Gale research collections including archival content, ebooks, primary sources, and business information.
* When in Gale Product Menu, choose Gale in Context Elementary. Using the term literacy skills or literacy provides helpful information.
Find full-text articles, books and monographs, education-related conference papers, and citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews.
*Typing a sentence into a search engine or database will not search resources effectively. Consider the key words and/ or phrases that describe what you want to search (e.g. outdoor education and early years). Enter these in the search boxes provided. Education Source is set to offer full text results by default. Abstracts or references for many more articles are available by deselecting the 'Also search within the full text of the articles' option.
Full-text of biographies, bibliographies, and literary criticism of authors from all time periods covering novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers from antiquity-present.
* The database offers a variety of search options, including searches by person or work.
Literacy.org is your source for research and development on literacy in the U.S. and worldwide.
*This website offers information about projects around the world, contact information regarding partners as well as publications and media.
Reading Is Fundamental (RIF) is the nation’s leading children’s literacy nonprofit.
* Offers information regarding why reading matters, solutions, and how you can help.
Information and resources regarding ECRR parent initiative.
* This is a valuable resource for materials and training on ECRR.
The Public Library Association (PLA) is the largest association dedicated to supporting the unique and evolving needs of public library professionals.
* An essential resource for public library employees. Has information about initiatives and projects, conferences and continuing education, publications and resources as well as other valuable information.
The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) is the world's largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children.
* ALSC is a network for library employees that work with children. Information regarding grants and scholarships, book lists, latest news, and many early literacy resources.
ACL’s members include public and school librarians, library school students, and others interested in children’s and young adult literature and librarianship
* This site contains many books, activities, crafts, blog created by Penny Peck.
*This website is hosted by two children's librarians and has many early literacy resources.
It offers reading lists, storytime themes, videos of fingerplays and songs, helpful tips and more.
The New York State Reading Association (NYSRA) is an all-inclusive volunteer organization of members who are passionate about literacy.
* A resource for awards, grants, professional development, current trends, publications and NYS teaching information.
Children and Libraries (CAL) is the official journal of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association. The Journal primarily serves as a vehicle for continuing education of librarians working with children, which showcases current scholarly research and practice in library service to children.
* Search by issue, title, & author to find information regarding all aspects of library service for children.
* The main emphasis in the journal is on papers researching issues related to the nature, function and use of literacy in early childhood. This includes the history, development, use, learning and teaching of literacy, as well as policy and strategy.